VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hello everybody,

Please advise whether what I describe below is an effective way to the job.

I have a DVD movie backup that is missing the last part of the movie and I want to create the missing part from an avi file (the same movie).

I used VirtualDub to create a new avi file (consists of the missing part) from the big avi file. Then I have converted the new avi file to VOB with Canopus Procoder 2.0.

Everything was fine but the major VOBs and the new one have different audio formats – the first ones are ac3 while the new one is mpeg2.

I used IMTOO MPG Encoder to convert the new VOB audio format from mpeg2 to ac3. I decided to get this one as it looks pretty easy to use though I have no experience working with it. I opened the new VOB in the program window, selected target as ac3 format and as a result I have received a file with extension ac3 (12,3 mb).

Sorry for the ignorance but I do not know how I should use the file in order to change the audio format of the VOB. I contacted technical support of IMTOO MPEG Encoder but it looks like it will take a while to get an answer.

I believe I should use a tool to put the new audio on the VOB. Probably muxman that Baldrick kindly advised me (https://forum.videohelp.com/viewtopic.php?p=1578039#1578039 ) can do the job. But in the manual to muxman I read that audio in the same track must have the same bit rate and channels.

In my case the major VOBs audio has bit rate 448 while the newly created VOB audio has 192 kbps. The major VOB channels are 5.1 while the new one is just stereo.

I tried to set channels to 5.1 and 448 kbps in IMTOO MPEG Encoder (manually as there is no such setting in the option, the highest is 320 kbps) before encoding but the resulting file produces no sound. How can I make them the same as in the major VOBs?

Thank you!
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM