VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I apologize if this is not the correct forum to ask this question, if not please direct me to the correct one. I am a newbie just trying to learn how to improve my DVD's. A friend sent me a DVD of a stage presentation recorded with a digital camera located in the audience. While the video picture is great, there is a loud objectionable hum throughout the audio. Is there anyway I can remove the hum without purchasing expensive professional software, using something like Nero 7's waveeditor for example? Any suggestions or URL's to other sites will be genuinely appreciated. Respectfully,
    Graphics Guy
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    No.

If I had this DVD, I'd decompile it, run the audio into Goldwave and/or SoundForge (likely I would use both), and then re-author it. It's simple enough, but you need good software.
    Want my help? Ask here! (not via PM!)
    FAQs: Best Blank DiscsBest TBCsBest VCRs for captureRestore VHS
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    My answer is yes.

If you'd like to do it for free, you can use an old shareware version of Cool Edit 96. It's got an outstanding Noise Reduction filter (you take the noise profile of the hum and apply the noise reduction using that profile). Cool Edit 96 is an ancestor of Cool Edit Pro and Adobe Audition. And to me personally Cool Edit Pro is hands down the best, most precise, most flexible audio editor there is. Cool Edit 96 is just a somewhat stripped down older version that still got powerful noise reduction filters and other good things. It's just that you can't use it all in the same session with this shareware version. Obviously you'd get more flexibility and power with either Cool Edit Pro or Adobe Audition, but if you'd like to do it for free, Cool Edit 96 will definitely do it for you, and do it really well.