VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hey, I'm really new to this thing, and so I have no idea what to do. Here's my problem: I have a couple of files with the .asx extension, and no program I have can run it. Is there some program that I can get from somewhere that can run/convert it? I tried the FFmpeg program, but all the encoded things I saved contained 0kb of information. I would really appreciate some help here. And, in case you didn't know, I'm on a Mac.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    From this site: http://www.webreference.com/js/column51/asf.html
    ASX files are textual command files that manage streaming of ASF files. They are very small in size (about 1K) because they contain no data, just instructions. When a user clicks a link to an ASX file, the browser downloads it to the cache directory, launches the Windows Media Player, and then starts the streaming. The advantage of using ASX files over ASF files is their server location.
    Check their size. If they are small as mentioned, that may be what they are. You may be able to use them in Windows Media player. (Mac version?)

And welcome to our forums.
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    Yeah, ASX files are really "meta"-files. That is, Files that describe other files.

It's just a text file in XML which is a pointer to the real media file.

Open it up in any text editor and see where the real file resides and DL/copy THAT.

Scott
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Ç
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Erm. Interesting. I posted something a second ago and all it did was show up as a wierd C. Oh well. Here goes again:

So when I open the file in the text editor all I get is a bunch of really wierd symbols (that aren't in any alphabet to my knowledge). And when I try to open the file in windows media player, I get an error saying that it cannot be opened. Any more ideas?