VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
    Search Comp PM
    About two years ago, after my brother mentioned to me he was going to buy a 250 disk DVD changer, I decided to build a Media Center.

I thought to myself, why swap DVD’s in an out and deal with menus when it can all be digital. No DVD’s going bad, no kids scratching and drooling on them, no yellow dog’s eating them. It seemed like the perfect solution!

Well, it’s been anything but perfect. I should know better, after almost two decades in the IT world, nothing is a easy as it sounds. I’m an engineer, architect, administrator, and heavy developer. Getting to today was no easy task. I am writing this chronicle as a reference for others, I made no guarantees of your own success but I hope this helps.

My Primary Goal:
    Build a true Media Center, pictures, audio, video, etc…
    Remote Control to control everything
    Output to HDTV (using either DVI/HDMI or component)
    Smallest possible files with best possible quality (MPEG4)
    AC3 (Dolby Digital Encoding) left intact in files
    AC3 encoding sent directly out of SPDIF or Fiber to my receiver
    No AC3 decoding done by PC
    Sufficient Disk space to store and easily find all my DVD movies and shows.

Secondary goal: use the Media Center as a DVR and perhaps HDDVR
    Ansuer - "try not... do... or do not... there is no try"
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Try buying a windows media center edition pc. It will be configured specifically for multimedia. And it can be high def compatible with the right capture card.
    Donatello - The Shredder? Michelangelo - Maybe all that hardware is for making coleslaw?
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    The Chronicle of Media: (skip to the next post if you want the final solution)