VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or try DVDFab and copy, convert Blu-ray and DVDs! :)

Poll: Best Codec Pack

Be advised that this is a public poll: other users can see the choice(s) you selected.

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Thread
  1. I was wondering which codec-pack is the best to install on your Windows XP Machine with SP2.
    If a perticular pack isnt listed, then feel free to tell everyone.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Always Watching guns1inger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Miskatonic U
    Search Comp PM
    There is no such as things as a best codec pack, or even a good codec pack. Most codec packs contain clashes and contradictions, half-arsed modifications to the original installers, and end up causing you more grief than good because there is not way to work out why a particular video or audio codec doesn't work.

    If you wan't the missing option on your poll, it is "I would never install a codec pack - I value my machine too much"

    Use soemthing like g-spot or avicodec when something wont play. They will tell you what you need. Download and install just that codec, and move on. Codec packs are for script kiddies who download indiscriminantly and don't care how screwed their machine is until it all stops. Then they scream "f&*king microsoft" and reinstall XP. Something they wouldn't have to do if they looked after their toys in the first place.
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  
  3. VH Wanderer Ai Haibara's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Somewhere on VideoHelp...
    Search Comp PM
    None. Use GSpot (the beta version 2.52), or similar tools for whatever OS you're using, determine which codecs it needs, and only install those particular codecs.
    If cameras add ten pounds, why would people want to eat them?
    Quote Quote  
  4. Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    USA
    Search Comp PM
    Whenever I rebuild I start with Nimo 5.0 and add any other codecs I might need manually if necessary. Be wary though as some Codec packs can conflict with other codecs installed. It is best to install a Codec pack on a freshly installed OS.
    Quote Quote  
  5. VH Veteran jimmalenko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Down under
    Search PM
    The best codec pack IMHO is the one that you don't install.
    If in doubt, Google it.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member mats.hogberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Sweden (PAL)
    Search Comp PM
    My idea coincides with ROFs - If you have a virgin box, and the ones creating the codec pack has anything behind their forehead bone, in theory, that would get you a good multi media system. Now, I don't trust codec pack "groups", and don't find installing (manually) a new codec once in a very long while that much of a burden, so I'd never recommend any codec pack.
    Just asking that question here is like asking Hells Angels what's the best Jap bike. Just that we're much nicer than HA

    /Mats
    Quote Quote  
  7. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    USA
    Search Comp PM
    Codec packs:
    Quote Quote  
  8. So Insted of installing codec packs, i just install each codec individually?.
    But there are many divx codecs out there. i am just confused which one to use for what?.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Always Watching guns1inger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Miskatonic U
    Search Comp PM
    You only need to install them if something doesn't play. Windows is bloated enough without you installing a pile of stuff you may never even need.
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member mats.hogberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Sweden (PAL)
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by nirbhayn
    But there are many divx codecs out there.
    Generally, when a new version of a codec is released (like DivX6) it's backwards compatible, so, for instance, you just need one DivX codec to handle playback of all DivX encoded material, be it DivX 4, 5 or 6.

    /Mats
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads