VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. First off, I am really new to audio editing (I've been playing around with Kristal Audio Engine, Audacity, Wavepad, BeLight, etc.) and was wondering if these programs or any other free ones can encode (not convert to) 2.0 surround audio. I've read that you can mux six mono waves into 5.1 surround and flag it for pro-logic downmixing (under the "Output" option in Azid settings) with BeLight (I have no idea how to use any of these programs without a GUI) and was wondering if the same can be done with the "stereo" option on the same program (or any other encoders)?

I'm really not anywhere close to actually doing any of the work yet (I'm still reading up on mixing 2.0 surround through print-outs from forums and Dolby technical documents) so I'm just looking for general answers (or links).

Thanks in advance for any help.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search PM
    2.0 is stereo. What do you mean by 2.0 surround?
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    He's talking about Dolby Surround (aka PL, PLII)-encoded 2.0.

You need a Dolby Surround matrix encoder. There are some recent threads here and over at Doom9 on this subject (incl. some of my posts).
    -or-
    You can roll your own with out a proper encoder by creating phase-adjusted submixes. See further on in some of those same posts.

Note: it's not that easy to do. In fact, I find it much easier just to do a true 5.1 mix.

Scott
    Quote Quote  
  4. "You can roll your own with out a proper encoder by creating phase-adjusted submixes. See further on in some of those same posts. "

So, a proper encoder would automatically phase-adjust the surround but you would have to do it
    manually during mixing before muxing and encoding the submixes to AC3?
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    Yes
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi there,