VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Alright so I got the manual for the microsoft remote and it says I need to connect the IR emitters to the receiver if I am using a set top box for my cable. I still dont' understand how they interact with the remote though. Anybody?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    They usually connect via USB and convert your remote commands to IR that the set top box can understand.

    They do more. If you want to program a scheduled record sequence, the computer controls the set top box through the IR adapter.

    Think of it this way. You control the computer through the remote and the computer controls the set top box through the IR adapter.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Член BJ_M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    if you dont like all those IR eyes and thin cables exposed to view (they are ugly) - most of the time you can just use a IR blaster which can hit most anything in the same room or even the same rack
    "Each problem that I solved became a rule which served afterwards to solve other problems." - Rene Descartes (1596-1650)
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    I really appreciate the replies, but I have no clue what you are saying. Thanks.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Then ask again.
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member Mr. Dweezel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Standing in the shadows.
    Search Comp PM
    ridergroov1

    A quick search turned up this. You can probably find better articles
    but this might help...

    http://www.hometheaterhifi.com/volume_10_3/feature-article-remote-control-system-8-2003.html
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    First you need to buy a media center pc

    Then read the setup instructions
    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/mediacenter/using/setup/settop.mspx

    If you have questions or need help, Microsoft won't help you. They want you to ask the organization that built your computer.

    If that organization is you, this will get you started.
    http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/system/platform/mediacenter/MCPCdeploy.mspx
    Quote Quote  
  8. The official MCE remote comes with an IR-Reciever and Blaster. You don't need to hook up emitters, if the small black box is with in line-of-sight range to your components, because it will blast the IR out the front (same general area it recieves from). If your components (stereo, cable box etc) are located in different area from where you place the remote's IR Reciever, than you will have to plug an emitter (can be bought at radio shack <5$) into the 1/8" jack on the back of the reciver and place the other end of it in front of your component(s). If this doesn't make sense to you, ask more questions. I know when I built my HTPC, the remote controll issue was by far the hardest thing to figure out.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads