VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
    Search Comp PM
    I've been converting video to PSP mpeg4 formats for several months now using programs such as PSP Video Converter, PSP Video 9 as well as others. Just recently I decided to try Sony's PSP Media Manager and I found it to be an extremely awesome video converion program, but not without issues.

First of all the video encoding format is mpeg4-AVC and that along paid for the purchase of $20 U.S. The video quality beats the hell out of all the other programs I've been using. The sharpness and image quality is by far on par with the Hollywood UMD disks. PSPMM has 2 video settings Low or High AVC, both settings are for the most part similar in appearance, it is extremely hard to tell which settings were used to encode the video. Hardly any noticeable pixellizaton on the lower setting

The interface takes some getting use to and can be a bit slow. It tends to redraw pictures in the photo gallery portion of the software everytime you move the slider, this can be extremely fustrating. The fact that you are unable to delete or rename videos from the source drive is rediculous and needs to be added. Also you are not able to create your own thumbnails, this is why I have to use another program to make these changes.

Also the AVC format takes double the amount of time to encode a video clip that most other programs render in half that time, for example: a 1 hour video clip can take 2 1/2 hours to encode using this progam. Dont get me wrong this program does an excellent job in most of the other areas such as backing up your PSP, viewing and encoding pictures and linking you to all your music on your PC as well as PSP

There are other features that are in this software that I haven't played around with yet due to the fact I was only interested in the video portion of the software.