+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    hey guys.
    I'm new at this.
    When i'm capturing the video from my DVcam which contains a DVmini Casette, what will the output resolution be?
    is it NTSC or PAL by default?

Also, are there any ways to change the resolution (size, to maybe 768x576) of the video when capturing?
    Quote Quote  
  2. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    Best
    1. Copy the video to your computer with WinDV. No "capturing" involved. The video resolution and PAL/NTSC format will be the same as the source.
    2. Then convert to whatever format you like.

You could also use something that copy and converts the video directly from the DV, like convert to dvd with Ulead DVD Workshop.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Baldrick,

I thought that going from DV to PC is a stream and as such your PC 'captures' the DV stream. It doesnt make a digital copy like from a file on a disc to PC copy.

This was posted in a thread recently, is that incorrect? And if it doesnt 'capture' a stream why would there ever be lost frames or anything as it is just making a 'copy' of the file such as a video file on a cd to PC??
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by winzee
    When i'm capturing the video from my DVcam which contains a DVmini Casette, what will the output resolution be?
    is it NTSC or PAL by default?
    Use WinDV to transfer the footage from tape to hard-drive on the PC in the form of DV AVI files.

PAL cam = PAL footage in the files. Likewise with NTSC.

Originally Posted by winzee
    Also, are there any ways to change the resolution (size, to maybe 768x576) of the video when capturing?
    Try the resize filter in VirtualDub. Be sure to download and install the Panasonic DV Codec and then set VirtualDub to use this when resizing, else it'll default to uncompressed AVI - which is huge!