VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Thread
  1. I need your help guys and gals. I've got some old VHS tapes which I've (thankfully) been able to salvage/remaster and convert to DVD. Unfortunately VHS is VHS and source "flaws" are still slightly visible.

I'd like to go through roughly 40 episodes of a half hour TV show (about 22 minutes now that I've removed the commercials) that'll never air again and touch it up frame by frame.

I am a video production student but I've had no courses which deal with remastering and most of what I know that I haven't learned through college courses (that's anything related to DV) I've learned on my own time. I was wondering if Photoshop would be a good tool to use for frame by frame restoration? I know it has a "DV Preset" for graphics but I don't know if it's a good restoration tool.

Also, once I create new still images in photoshop (save as TIFF files?) what program should I use to render them as a video? I know they have to be shortened to one frame each (NTSC) but I'm not quite sure what to use. I'd prefer a Mac program if possible as my copy of photoshop is on my Mac, and although I usually edit on a PC my specs are less than spectacular. Any suggestions?

Finally, when I decide to mux the audio back with the video, and create a new file, what output format should I use? DV, DVD, or something else?

My main goal is to take these standard definition remastered tapes that are on DVD and remaster them "frame by frame" so that they'll look decent when upconverted to an HD format at a later date. I need an archival format to store them on prior to an HD Upconvert as well as one that would be useful after the HD Upconvert. Thankfully the conversions have come out very well but I think they'd need more touching up for an HD format. I'd appreciate any help you can give me for this project. Thank you in advance.

~Cyrax9~