VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi

i have been burning backup dvdr's for several years now. i have used expensive players and cheap players, but they all seem to stop playing dvd-r's after about 1 year.

Is this a common problem, or am i just buying the wrong players? Right now i have a pioneer, an apex and a sanyo. the apex quit playing dvd-r after about 6 months, but still plays original stamped dvd's. sanyo is still going strong and my oldest, the 3 year old pioneer is starting to flake out on some dvd-r's.

any comments appreciated

thanks
    jim
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Ive got a Pioneer that refuses to quit, its over 2.5 years old. The only reason I upgraded was to get the 642 so I can play Divx. Only, Im ending up just playing cropped MPEG files off data disk instead. The Pioneer I have will do DVD, SVCD and VCD. The Philips will do all that plus MP3, JPEG, Divx and MPEG. Now I dont have to re-encode all my Tivo movies and generate DVD VOBs and such, just drop them on a data DVD and watch them! Im happy as a pig in mund!
    I have been into computers since 1980. Ive been tinkering with DV in one flavor or another since 1990.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Ive also had some Apex units that I got rid of, and they still played!
    I have been into computers since 1980. Ive been tinkering with DV in one flavor or another since 1990.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    I would try having the laser cleaned on the Player. If you clean them they will normally last a few more years. I still have an Apex703 that plays very well after quite a few years. It gets cleaned about once every 6 months.
    Quote Quote  
  5. what kind of cleaning are you talking about......the little discs with brushes on them or a major take it all apart cleaning?
    Quote Quote  
  6. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Search Comp PM