VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 25 of 25
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    I'm new to this group. I have a new Dell 8400 one gig memory and plenty of disk space.
    NEC DVD+-RW ND-3530A Drive
    ATI eHomeWonder, WDM Video CODEC tv card.
    I want to transfer VHS tape to a DVD disk. The TV card coax works OK. However I can't get the composite and sound inputs to work. Tried using ULeadMovieFactory3 and sonic 6.1 Both try to access the TV card as if searching for a signal (hour glass) and then grey out the next set of buttons. Your advise on the next step to identify the problem is appreciated. Thanks
    Quote Quote  
  2. Change your source from tuner to composite for video.
    Cheers, Jim
    My DVDLab Guides
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Using ULeadMovieFactory3 - It recongnizes my TV card. Where do you change the source? Don't see any menu etc for that.
    Quote Quote  
  4. If Ulead doesn't have a menu, to change the source from tuner to composite, try other software.
    Movie factory isn't really a capturing software anyhow.
    Cheers, Jim
    My DVDLab Guides
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    The ATI eHomeWonder is a MCE specific card. Ask ULead if they support it.

    You may need to use ATI or MCE specific software.
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    My brother and Cousin are using ULead with no problems.
    Just different capture cards. Also tried Sonic 6.1. Same problem. Does analog vs digital have anything to do with my problem. Dell told me I need a breakout box to change the analog to digital input. Not sure if I do, that is another reason for this post.
    Quote Quote  
  7. There is very little software that works with any of the hardware MPEG2 capture cards. You usually have to use the software supplied by the manufacturer.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by SSteve
    Just different capture cards.
    That is the point. The eHomeWonder is an OEM card that only works with MCE.

    Originally Posted by SSteve
    Does analog vs digital have anything to do with my problem. Dell told me I need a breakout box to change the analog to digital input. Not sure if I do, that is another reason for this post.
    I wasn't aware that the eHomeWonder has digital inputs. What digital input does it have? Or are you talking about outputs?
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    1) What is MCE you are referring to.
    2) Do not assume I have digital inputs. That is what Dell teck support told me. They are not always correct in their answers. I am looking for verification from this group.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Kansas City MO
    Search Comp PM
    MCE = Media Center Edition (Windows XP Media Center Editon 2005). Has the additional software that allows you to record TV, listen to radio , view pictures etc by way of a neat software interface program.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/mediacenter/default.mspx
    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/expertzone/communities/mediacenter.mspx

    A Media Center PC is an OEM machine (Dell in this case) that is built around Microsoft Media Center Edition software which in turn uses a specific list of OEM components such as special tuner cards, special display cards, special remote controls, special audio drivers etc. all off the MCE certified list.

    The responsibility for this machine lies with the OEM system integrator (Dell). Microsoft offers support only through the OEM, not directly to the customer.

    These specially designed components such as the ATI eHomeWonder tuner are not even directly supported by ATI. ATI expects the card to be supported by the OEM. You won't find the card on the ATI site.

    If you buy a media center computer, you are only going to get support from the OEM that built it. If you attempt to build one yourself, then you have to look in the mirror for support (or unofficial online MCE forums).
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Thank you for answering question 1)
    Can anyone help with #2)?
    Quote Quote  
  13. The eHome Wonder is a hardware MPEG2 capture card:

    http://www.ati.com/products/ehome/
    http://www.ati.com/products/ehome/features.html

    It has analog inputs for s-video, composite video, and audio.

    As I mentioned earlier, very few programs can capture from any of the hardware MPEG2 cards. You will have to capture via the Dell/ATI supplied capture program.

    I don't know what Dell meant by a "a breakout box to change the analog to digital input". Maybe they meant you could use something like a Canopus ADVC 100 as an analog to DV converter and then capture on the computer via firewire (aka IEEE 1394). Most capture programs can capture DV via firewire. But then you don't need the eHome Wonder at all!

    I don't know if MovieFactor 3 came with your card/system or not, but even if it did, don't assume that it was meant for capturing from the eHome Wonder. It's probably supplied as a DVD authoring program for videos you capture via the capture program.
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM


    Card shows an analog TV/cable, FM antenna and S-Video input. I'm not sure how capture audio gets to the card from the PC sound system. Nothing digital here.

    Some other discussions of the card

    http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/video/tvt1/en/index.htm
    http://htpcnews.com/main.php?id=pvr_card_id_guide_2
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  15. The small black connector isn't s-video -- I believe it's for a pigtail. From a larger image at ATI's web site:

    Quote Quote  
  16. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Ah: And then there is this.

    http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/video/tvt1/en/setup.htm

    which one do you have SSteve?
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    My card is the one shown on the Dell site, hooked up as follows.
    Single tuner - no radio.
    I'm using the CATV cable from the wall directly to the card.
    Then I connected the Composite video line out from my VCR to the COMP in on the TV card.
    Audio line out from the VCR using a Y cable to Audio in on the card.
    Quote Quote  
  18. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by SSteve
    My card is the one shown on the Dell site, hooked up as follows.
    Single tuner - no radio.
    I'm using the CATV cable from the wall directly to the card.
    Then I connected the Composite video line out from my VCR to the COMP in on the TV card.
    Audio line out from the VCR using a Y cable to Audio in on the card.
    And what is your problem?

    I wouldn't use an audio Y cable while capturing. You are creating a levels and impedance mismatch that will degrade audio quality.
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  19. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Tried using ULeadMovieFactory3 and sonic 6.1(Sonic was included from Dell) Both try to access the TV card as if searching for a signal (hour glass) and then grey out the next set of buttons. Can't go any further. Ran thru the procedure with my cousin using ULead so I know it should be communicating with the card at this point.
    Quote Quote  
  20. YOU CANNOT CAPTURE FROM A HARDWARE MPEG2 CARD WITH MOST CAPTURE PROGRAMS.

    The behaviour you're seeing from the programs you've tried is exactly what happens when they try to connect to a hardware MPEG2 card. They don't understand the MPEG2 stream format and give up.

    BeyondTV and SageTV claim to support the eHome Wonder.
    Quote Quote  
  21. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by junkmalle
    YOU CANNOT CAPTURE FROM A HARDWARE MPEG2 CARD WITH MOST CAPTURE PROGRAMS.

    The behaviour you're seeing from the programs you've tried is exactly what happens when they try to connect to a hardware MPEG2 card. They don't understand the MPEG2 stream format and give up.

    BeyondTV and SageTV claim to support the eHome Wonder.
    Also, MCE has provision for external recording. MCE is presumed to be your software of choice when you buy a Media Center PC. Everything goes to the DVR-MS format. SSteve, you now live in the MCE universe so start with the Dell and above links. Also,

    http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=465419
    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/mediacenter/default.mspx
    http://mediacenter.mattgoyer.com/



    If you wanted generic hardware, you would have bought retail versions of XP supported hardware.
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  22. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    I appreciate your help. Can I just buy another generic TV card and swap with the EHome card? Would everything still work in MCE?
    Quote Quote  
  23. Member SHS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Vinita, Oklahoma
    Search Comp PM
    Your best beat if want to keep MCE is Hauppauge WinTV-PVR 150MCE, 250MCE, USB2 MCE and there also the 500MCE but the 500MCE Dual Tuner if I re-call rigth it didn't work with any Ulead Movie Factory ver and it best to get Movie Factory 4.0 and plug-in driver for the other list PVR card becuases it far more compatible then ver 3.0 is, but you could always used WinTV2000 but keep in mind that 500MCE only work with the 1st Tuner or Video input with WinTV2000.
    Quote Quote  
  24. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Sorry for the delay. I finally contacted Dell. I have to use MS Movie Maker to rip the VHS tapes, then burn to a DVD. I hope the ripped format is correct to burn the DVDs.
    Quote Quote  
  25. It's not.
    You'll have to re-encode them to mpeg-2, then author them, then burn.
    Cheers, Jim
    My DVDLab Guides
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads