VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !

Poll: Have you made your standalone DVD Player/Recorder region-free?

Be advised that this is a public poll: other users can see the choice(s) you selected.

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14
Thread
  1. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    No, it was already region-free.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member ZippyP.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Lotus Land
    Search Comp PM
    Just got a Lite-on recorder/player. Now it's region free, macrovision ignoring and has a 3 hour mode.
    "Art is making something out of nothing and selling it." - Frank Zappa
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member Weapon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Search Comp PM
    No. I don't have a need to as I view only region 1.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member yoda313's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Animus
    Search Comp PM
    Nope. I only have one pal disc (I'm NTSC). And I dubbed it with a modded xbox to my wintv pvr250 and made a beautiful dub of it .
    Donatello - The Shredder? Michelangelo - Maybe all that hardware is for making coleslaw?
    Quote Quote  
  5. Once I hacked my first player, I've never bought another that couldn't be. I'm also fortunate enough to live in an area that has a video store that rents DVDs from other regions and sells region free players.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    ®Inside My Avatar™© U.S.
    Search Comp PM
    Have you made your standalone DVD Player/Recorder region-free?

    I voted yes, only because i have made more standalone players region free than i have bought already region free.....

    Made 3 region free through menu loopholes,
    Made 1 region free through a firmware hack,
    And have bought 2 from overseas that were already made region free from the manufacturer... Also they all converted from PAL to NTSC.... or vice versa 8)

    Originally Posted by Weapon
    No. I don't have a need to as I view only region 1.
    Originally Posted by yoda313
    Nope. I only have one pal disc (I'm NTSC). And I dubbed it with a modded xbox to my wintv pvr250 and made a beautiful dub of it .
    Dudes!!!!!!!! there is SOOOOOOO much great stuff that is only availible in other regions and in PAL

    Originally Posted by RowMan
    I'm also fortunate enough to live in an area that has a video store that rents DVDs from other regions and sells region free players.
    Where do you live ??
    If you even mention "Diff. Region" or "PAL" at any video store (family video, blockbuster, eyeon video) around me.... they would be like huh ?? and look at you like you were crazy with 0% of a clue!!!!! including anyone at Best Buy or any other store
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member shelbyGT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Kansas City, KS
    Search Comp PM
    No, only watch region 1 discs.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member Xylob the Destroyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Earth, for now
    Search Comp PM
    no, none of the supposed "hacks" listed on the web work for my 3 stand alone players....
    and I don't wanna screw around with the physical mods
    "To steal ideas from one person is plagiarism; to steal from many is research." - Steven Wright
    "Megalomaniacal, and harder than the rest!"
    Quote Quote  
  9. Yes, Yes and Yes...
    Viva Freedom of DVDRegion Free...No more limitation only language barrier..thanks to Subtitles.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member Xylob the Destroyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Earth, for now
    Search Comp PM
    I do have a GameShark that allows multi-region viewing on my PS2....
    but i never use my PS2 for watching movies.
    "To steal ideas from one person is plagiarism; to steal from many is research." - Steven Wright
    "Megalomaniacal, and harder than the rest!"
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member rhegedus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    on the jazz
    Search Comp PM
    Yes.
    Regards,

    Rob
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member solarfox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    No, because there doesn't appear to be a region-free hack for my standalone...

    Instead, I simply rip any non-region-1 discs to the hard drive and re-burn them as region-free DVDR's.
    Quote Quote  
  13. VH Veteran jimmalenko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Down under
    Search PM
    Yes.
    If in doubt, Google it.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads