VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hello!

I have some video files that I would like to enhance before burning them to DVD.

Does anybody know of a good way to do that? I understand that some programs, such as encoders, have filters built in to clean up the images. But I don't understand how any of that works?

Yeah, I'm a newbie. Sorry about that.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!!

Happy Video-ing !!!!!

Regards,
    Chris
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search PM
    well first thing we need is a bit more specific information. Saying "I want to enhance a video" is a pretty broad term and could be likened to sitting in an airplane and asking how to fly it :P

Before that though, how are you getting the mpeg files? Are you capturing them from vhs or a camcorder?

For the video enhancements:
    Are you wanting to mainly brighten the images up?
    Correct the colors?
    Sharpen the image?
    or D: All of the above.

If this is mainly what you are after, there are some simple all in one encoders that will do that for you like tmpgenc Xpress..i think they even make an "easy" version now thats even simpler.

if you want to splice video clips and do any sort of advanced fx you will need to get an mpeg editing program. A simple one that works for splicing jobs is womble mpeg video wizard.

If you are new to video editing the first thing I would say is be patient...theres alot more to video than you think!

You may want to browse through the Restoration section of the forums and see if there is anything of interest there as well.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Okay, thanks! Yeah, I'm wanting to do all of those things, as far as enhancement goes.

I have the video files aleady in .VOB and .MPEG formats.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM