VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hello there,

I have an ADVC 50 on its way in the post. I'm aiming to convert a box full of family home video VHS tapes to DVD, but only have one shot at it as I need to send the video back down from uni to my family pretty soon, with it being highly unlikely to get another chance to convert it... long story.

Anyway - I'm new to capturing/encoding to DVD/etc, and was really hoping that someone who has had decent results using this card would be able to guide me through the process. I'd love to be able to sit there for a few months learning, tweaking, editing, perfecting and figuring out the best way to do this for myself to get the best results, but unfortuntely time is short.

So yep, would someone experienced in this with old tape and the ADVC 50 please be able to describe to me their full method, including exactly what software gives them the best results, please? Preferably with decent audio rather than AC3/DTS. Some of this video tapes are 17 years old [the others spanning from then to the present] and the picture is already deteriorating massively... and thus i'm desperate to capture it in the best possible method straight away as our side of the family might not be able to get hold of the tapes again. [Tried once a while ago whilst borrowing a Dazzle external thing but it was dropping frames all over the place and didn't really have good results in the non-dropped frames...hoping the ADVC50 is better.]

This would be fantastic - thanks in advance if anyone can spare me their time and industry secrets!

Adam
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Software: Scenalizer Live!