VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Thread
    Search Comp PM
    Hi!

I am a newbie and want to capture all of my family videos to DVD. I have been reading the forum for quite sometime now and what I have been able to understand (if I am right) is that a TBC is always good to have when capturing from VHS.

I have three questions.

1. Is it always necessary to have a standalone full frame TBC or the built-in TBC on some S-VHS VCRs be enough?

2. I have come across many forum threads where members have described the Canopus ADVC 300 to be one of the best converters because of its built-in LTBC and DNR cuircuits which produce good quality and also a reasonable price. If I bought this device then will I still need to have my tapes played on a VCR with built-in TBC or a standalone TBC or can I getaway with only an ordinary S-VHS VCR?

3. I live in the UK where almost all video equipment come equiped with the SCART sockets for connectivity (as my old JVC HR-J670EK VCR). How advisable is to use this VCR for playback with a SCART to S-VIDEO adapter installed? Are there any quality loss issues involved with these kind of adapters or is it advisable to use a VCR which has an S-VIDEO socket?

Thanks in advance.
    Always try to make an informed choice
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Canopus ADVC 300 is ridiculous. For $500, you're getting financially raped. It's nothing more than a mere DV box, and the "digital" TBC (as it was once described) is suspect. Pass on this crap and invest that $500 more wisely.

A good VCR (high end S-VHS unit with TBC and full filter) will fix most tape issues, and prevent most dropped frame issues. It cleans the picture, and then cleans a chunk of the signal.

Picture and signal are separate concepts. You see the picture, you don't see the signal.

For harsh signal errors (including anti-copy garbage), you need a full TBC, a separate unit. It does not clean the picture. It cleans the signal.