VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Please be gentle as I am new to this stuff. OK so I have used panasonic to convert my DIvx/AVI file to an mpeg. Problem is it is too big to fit on CD-r. I tried to use AVIchop to break into half but then panasonic wont encode....I get this error in QUARTZ.dll message.
    Anybody seen this or have a solution
    Quote Quote  
  2. Are you trying to split the .avi file before you encode? If so don't do that. If it is a full length movie you will not get it to fit on one cd-r. Encode to .mpeg first then split it. If you still have problems splitting it try with AVIchop try TMPGEnc.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Ok, the below is really long (I cut/pasted from another post I made). For a DivX source the quaility is pretty poor so a VCD CBR encode is ok. But I thought I'd include all the xVCD stuff anyway.

While you can cut your DivX source, or cut your encoded MPEG it's much easier to tell TMPGenc to only encode part of your source. You use the source range command (see Sefy's Newbie guide for more info) to do this. The source range command lists both frame number AND runtime. Now you need to decide if you're making a VCD, xVCD, SVCD, xSVCD.

There are a lot of ways to use source range. First, if you are using the standard VCD template then video=1150kbit/s and audio=224kbit/s. This works out to 1min=10MB.
    Since a 74min CDR holds 740MB and an 80min CDR holds 800MB (of mode2 data) you can do your calculations/cut with this in mind.

eg. 120min movie. Let's cut at ~60min, that would result in 2x 600MB files. Just use source range to select the first 60min (save project) then the 2nd 60min (save project). Then use the "file | batch encode" command to encode both projects.