VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 17 of 17
Thread
  1. hello all, i've heard that there'e firmware that allows you to view external subs on avi's. I have a JVC XV-NP10S and i've searched and searched and can't turn anything up. If any exists, does anyone know where to find it. Thanks in advance.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member ricardouk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Portugal
    Search Comp PM
    no need for firmware update, have a look here:

    https://www.videohelp.com/forum/archive/t267432.html

    thats the method i use and has a lot more advantages than the srt method:

    size of subs, color of subs, position onscreen of the subs etc can be customized

    best of all no need to reencode the avi

    i recomend this method because even after firmware updates some players dont display srt subs properly, if subs are important to you the above method is for me the best one
    I love it when a plan comes together!
    Quote Quote  
  3. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    does all divx players support xsubs?
    Quote Quote  
  4. thanks for the reply, i almost gave up on the post, glad i checked again. I'll try this out.
    Quote Quote  
  5. I keep getting this message when trying to make the xsub file. "Create Process Error #2: The system cannot find the file specified."

    Any suggestions?
    Quote Quote  
  6. was missing a file "bmptoxsub.exe", found a link and is now working.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member ricardouk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Portugal
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Baldrick
    does all divx players support xsubs?
    if it is a divx certified player yes it will
    I love it when a plan comes together!
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member ricardouk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Portugal
    Search Comp PM
    gad it worked 12gage.
    can you post your results(good or bad) as i think a lot of users are a bit afraid of using it but i think its quite easy to use.
    it seems you "picked it up" quickly.
    I love it when a plan comes together!
    Quote Quote  
  9. ricardouk, i tried it and the subs work great, however the file plays great on my computer, but in my standalone the display looks like this

    if i hit >>\<< then play it goes to fulll screen. Is this common? Is there a setting i need to change or is it my player? [/img]
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member ricardouk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Portugal
    Search Comp PM
    cant see the picture.
    you can use www.imageshack.us to display pics here.
    Havent figured out how to do it here
    I love it when a plan comes together!
    Quote Quote  
  11. ITS SHOWING ON MY COMPUTER BUT HERE'S A DIRECT LINK

    http://img317.echo.cx/img317/6766/example5cv.gif
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member ricardouk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Portugal
    Search Comp PM
    are you using the divx player dsoftware because to me is the only one that handles divx6 well.

    double click on video twice it should go fullscreen.

    when i play it on my standalone it goes fulscreen or letterboxed it never goes like the one in your picture
    I love it when a plan comes together!
    Quote Quote  
  13. i play the divx file in the divx player on my computer, but in my standalone the picture starts off like that with static around the edges. then when i hit ff or rewind and play it the picture will be full screen again.
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member ricardouk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Portugal
    Search Comp PM
    your player is divx certified, it shouldnt have any difficulties playing those files even with xsubs.

    ive tried my backups on yamada 6700 and philips 642 and on mine samsung ht-ds490 and it plays perfectly on all of them with the correct aspect ratio when viewing it on standalone.
    do you have to press zoom or something on your standalone to get fullscreen playback?
    I love it when a plan comes together!
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member ricardouk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Portugal
    Search Comp PM
    I love it when a plan comes together!
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member ricardouk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Portugal
    Search Comp PM
    googling around i found that this player has difficultyin playind divx with 760x520 resolution, divx files with GMC or Qpel and JVC doesnt do firmware updates but i reado lot of people where returning them and buy a philips 642 instead.

    Use Gspot to see if your files have gmc or qpel?

    did this problem appear before?
    I love it when a plan comes together!
    Quote Quote  
  17. thanks for the response and time put into my problem. res is 512/368, not GMC or Qpel for sure. and it is DivX certified. and it just does that when selecting the file until i hit fast foward x1 or rewind x1 then play. for some reason that makes it play correctly.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads