VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi, I am rather new to the the subtitle world and am trying to create a sub for one of my DVD. I use DVDLAb Pro and Subtitle workshop, now here is the problem :

Situation : A started to speak while B was already speaking at the background.

I use this timing (*.srt file) :

00:00:00,000 --> 00:00:01,000
    BBBBBBB

00:00:01,000 --> 00:00:02,000
    AAAAAAA
    BBBBBBB
    Ok then with Subtitle Workshop, all displayed very well (meaning that BBBBBBB was fixed all the time and at 00:00:01,000 AAAAAAA appears).

But after i import the sub to DVDLab Pro and compile to a DVD, it seems like between 1 and 2 BBBBBBB disappears for a few milliseconds (it "flashes" as if there is an a blank between 1 and 2).

Hope you all understand what i mean... :P

So my question is : is there a way to display BBBBBBB without a little "pause" while AAAAAAA appears in the middle of BBBBBBB's duration for a DVD subtitle???
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I always do it this way (screen display):

- LISTEN TO ME!
    - NO, YOU LISTEN TO ME!

They both display at the same time, and the reader gets the idea of the speech tempo.
    ICBM target coordinates:
    26° 14' 10.16"N -- 80° 16' 0.91"W
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Thx, so there is no other way???
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM

Situation : A started to speak while B was already speaking at the background.

I use this timing (*.srt file) :

BBBBBBB

AAAAAAA
    BBBBBBB
    Have you tried this

00:00:00,000 --> 00:00:02,000
    BBBBBBB

AAAAAAA
    BBBBBBB

Just a thought - don't know if it will work.
    You can't fool me, I'm a moron!
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Unfortunately, this won't work either (DVDlab pro count as an error).
    Quote Quote