VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Brazil
    Search Comp PM
    Hi there !
    Dear friends, I am a beginner on editing videos and authoring DVD. Despite of having bought and red the apple pro training book of the final cut studio pro hd and waiting for the arriving of dvd studio pro 3 book, I have and I'm sure that I will still having doubts on the matter. I'm authoring a dvd on DVDSP3, and reading the help section I could do some good things planning the menus but on two, for the moment, I'm experiencing problems.
    - First is that I'm not obtaining a highlighted button when I move to it through the arrows of the simulator. I can't see which button is selected.
    - Second. When I try to import a movie that a friend gave me to do the DVD, the DVDSP closes... . The movie file is [DivX] "Filename".avi .It has a duration of 01:29'09 and the dimensions are 656 x 384. Could the problem be because I'm working on DVDSP with NTSC 720 x 480 ?
    Thanks for reading it and I hope I can have some advices.... .
    Quote Quote  
  2. DVDSP works with MPEG2s not DIVX AVIs. Use Quicktime and Compressor to change the format to MPEG2. As for the strange dimensions, I'm not sure what that will do, but if you import into FCP, it will allow you to export with a mask to frame the video with the right dimensions.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Brazil
    Search Comp PM
    I don't have the quicktime pro....Is it necessary ?
    Originally Posted by pixeljammedia
    DVDSP works with MPEG2s not DIVX AVIs. Use Quicktime and Compressor to change the format to MPEG2. As for the strange dimensions, I'm not sure what that will do, but if you import into FCP, it will allow you to export with a mask to frame the video with the right dimensions.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member terryj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    N3525.24068, W09734.204
    Search Comp PM
    Yes. In fact if you BOUGHT DVDSP3 LEGITIMATELY,
    AS WELL AS FCP LEGITIMATELY,
    it would have come with Quicktime Pro and Compressor
    bundled!
    Can we get a moderator here please?
    "Everyone has to learn, so that they can one day teach."
    ------------------------------------------------------
    When I'm not here, Where can I be found?
    Urban Mac User
    Quote Quote  
  5. No Longer Mod tgpo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    The South Side
    Search Comp PM
    I'm locking this thrad because QT Pro does come with both bundles. If you want to contest this please pm me and I'll see if this topic is okay.
    Quote Quote  
  6. No Longer Mod tgpo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    The South Side
    Search Comp PM
    The author pm me and explained the situation. He does have QT Pro and COmpressor, he just didn't realize it. All is well.
    Quote Quote  
  7. No Longer Mod tgpo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    The South Side
    Search Comp PM
    You'll need to convert your divx file to something DVDSP will understand. I typically use QT Pro to export to Motion JPEG A with one Field. DVDSP will read and convert it perfectly.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member terryj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    N3525.24068, W09734.204
    Search Comp PM
    Don't forget, Divx Doctor II still works.

    thanks master tgpo.
    sorry to raise a red flag, just sounded suspect.
    Apologizing for any harm done ( none I hope).
    "Everyone has to learn, so that they can one day teach."
    ------------------------------------------------------
    When I'm not here, Where can I be found?
    Urban Mac User
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by terryj
    Yes. In fact if you BOUGHT DVDSP3 LEGITIMATELY,
    AS WELL AS FCP LEGITIMATELY,
    it would have come with Quicktime Pro and Compressor
    bundled!
    Can we get a moderator here please?
    take it easy captain. jeeez
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads