VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    Hey everyone,

Help me out here? I'm getting ready to switch from my current 2.8ghz Pentium 4 with 1gb of RAM to an iMac G5 with 1.8ghz processor and also 1gb of RAM.

Right now, I use a PCI TV card to capture video from S-Video devices. I can usually capture video tapes without any dropped frames, unless they're really noisy. I capture them to lossless AVI files with the HuffYUV codec.

Now, I understand that I'll need a Firewire type device to acheive the same sort of thing on my new Mac? I have no experience at all with anything other than the "old style" TV cards. Is there anything I need to know? How much to pay? Product recommendations?

If I plug this thing in to my new Mac and load up Adobe Premiere, will I be able to capture directly into it using the tools it has built in? Will it still be lossless? What video codec does it use - I hear on the Mac there is a good lossless video codec - something like "Pixlet"? Or am I just imagining this?

Please point me in the right direction

Edit: one more thing. Is there a Mac equivalent to VirtualDub?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Originally Posted by Lyris
    Hey everyone,

Help me out here? I'm getting ready to switch from my current 2.8ghz Pentium 4 with 1gb of RAM to an iMac G5 with 1.8ghz processor and also 1gb of RAM.

Right now, I use a PCI TV card to capture video from S-Video devices. I can usually capture video tapes without any dropped frames, unless they're really noisy. I capture them to lossless AVI files with the HuffYUV codec.

Now, I understand that I'll need a Firewire type device to acheive the same sort of thing on my new Mac? I have no experience at all with anything other than the "old style" TV cards. Is there anything I need to know? How much to pay? Product recommendations?