VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and copy Ultra HD Blu-rays and DVDs! Or rip iTunes movies and music! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 16 of 16
Thread
  1. How to perform rallynavvie's VideoHelp Benchmark

    Some people are having trouble performing this benchmark. To help with this, I've made a guide for you all. Follow it, and I guarantee you'll pull off the benchmark with minimum buggeration.

    Firstly, download all the files rallynavvie set out in the original post, or this .ZIP that I made:

    https://www.videohelp.com/~cobra/VHB.zip (4.71MB)

    (that .ZIP file has everything you need in it - just decompress it to your desktop)

    Now, when you open it you will have something like this:



    How to create a nice, neat CPU-Z report


    CPU-Z is included in the .ZIP file you downloaded.

    1 - Launch CPU-Z. A window will open up - notice the tabs across the top:



    2 - Now, click on the tab labelled "1".
    3 - Click the button marked "2" and save the document as something.htm - I did "cobra.htm".
    4 - You can then upload it to VideoHelp like this:



    Click on the Browse button (labelled "1") and select your .htm file. Then just type the file name in with the same URL markers in square brackets that you see in the image.

    When you click "Submit" hey presto! You get something that looks like this:

    cobra.htm

    You have now given us your machine specifications. Now, you need to actually test your machine.

    Performing the actual encode and getting your time:


    Ensure all non-vital processes are shut down! Use control-alt-delete, click on the "Processes" tab and end all non-vital tasks.

    1 - Open TMPGEnc. You will see the following window:



    2 - Press the "Load" button (labelled 1) and find the "mpeg1.mcf" file included in the folder you decompressed. Load this file.
    3 - Press the "Browse" button by "Video Source" (labelled 2) and find the file "DIVX_Archive_NTSC" file included in the same folder as the "mpeg1.mcf" file. Load it.
    4 - Now, you must go "File --> Add current project to batch list --> MPEG file" as per this image:



    5 - Select where you wish to output this file, and save it. You will then be presented with this dialogue box:



    6 - Click "Run" (circled in red)
    7 - Once TMPGEnc has completed the encode, it will present you with the following report:



    You simply need to take down the time circled in red and post it up in rallynavvie's thread!
    Quote Quote  
  2. contrarian rallynavvie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Minnesotan in Texas
    Search Comp PM
    Sweet, now please post questions and concerns about the test here so we can keep the other thread for results
    FB-DIMM are the real cause of global warming
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Costa Rica
    Search Comp PM
    I was not able to upload the CPUz HTML files. I copied over all text and placed it insude quotes.
    Quote Quote  
  4. VH Veteran jimmalenko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Down under
    Search PM
    That may have been your problem.

    All you need is the following:

    file.htm

    and then browse to your HTML file.

    Make sure that there's no spaces or underscores in the filename and to be safe make sure it is lowercase.
    If in doubt, Google it.
    Quote Quote  
  5. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    i have removed htm/html upload support
    Quote Quote  
  6. VH Veteran jimmalenko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Down under
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by Baldrick
    i have removed htm/html upload support
    It was used in the site hack ?
    If in doubt, Google it.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Costa Rica
    Search Comp PM
    I found another problem with this test. If in DivX Decoder Configuration Utility I modify the parameters under Playback options and set "Post procesing level" to Off and "Enable film effect" is not checked, the elapsed time is reduced around 3 seconds in my system.

    Before I had 24 secods with the defaults values and now I have 21 second with these option disabled.

    I think the guide should stdarize DivX configuration.
    Quote Quote  
  8. That's strange, but logical. I didn't think of DivX interfering with encoding, but it stands to reason that it should as it is decompressing DivX video and it doesn't make a difference whether it is playing back or putting it to an encoder.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member dipstick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Dark side of the Moon
    Search Comp PM
    I can't perform the benchmark on any of my computers because I don't have divix/xvid codecs installed on any of them, nor do I want to. I'd much prefere that the benchmark tests be done using standard DV-AVI, so that I could participate. But I like reading the tests results just the same.
    I stand up next a mountain and chop it down with the ledge of my hand........ I'm a Voodoo child.... Jimi Hendrix,
    Quote Quote  
  10. contrarian rallynavvie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Minnesotan in Texas
    Search Comp PM
    I agree, it was BJ_Ms fault for providing us with a ruddy DivX sample vid
    FB-DIMM are the real cause of global warming
    Quote Quote  
  11. I'm thinking that even the version of Divx installed will affect speed. Seems to me I recall reading that the new 6.2 is suppose to be much faster? Or is that only when encoding into Divx/
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member vhelp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New York
    Search Comp PM
    Hi again.

    Can anyone tell me what is going on with CPU-Z 's output, here ?
    I used the one that I just D/L'ed from Cobra's page (here) after D/L'ing
    this file:

    --> https://www.videohelp.com/~cobra/VHB.zip (4.71MB)

    Thanks,
    -vhelp 4289

    Quote Quote  
  13. contrarian rallynavvie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Minnesotan in Texas
    Search Comp PM
    I would think you just need to download the latest version from www.cpuid.com so that it can recognize your newer system.
    FB-DIMM are the real cause of global warming
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member vhelp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New York
    Search Comp PM
    Hi rally,

    Actually, that *is* from from my (now) older pc, AMD XP 1800+ and where it used to
    work with all the older versions, including CPU-Z v1.26 too.

    I guess I'll write off the issues with the old versions, and use the latest version.
    I D/L 'ed the latest version and use that one on both systems. They work pefectly, now.

    --> http://www.cpuid.com/ <--- main website
    --> http://www.cpuid.com/download/cpu-z-140.zip

    -vhelp 4290
    Quote Quote  
  15. I'll need to update this benchmark when I get a chance. Newer CPU-Z, or perhaps a text file with a link to the website for CPU-Z? It won't go out of date that way. 8)

    Should the video be changed to something longer? A longer benchmark is better because there will be more of a difference between systems.
    Quote Quote  
  16. contrarian rallynavvie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Minnesotan in Texas
    Search Comp PM
    Be nice to script it too.
    FB-DIMM are the real cause of global warming
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads