VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Thread
  1. I am a rank beginner at this video stuff. I don't even understand half the language being used. I have read through the tutorials and searched the forum for the last couple of days, but haven't found the information I need. I hope some of you can help me.

Here's the story. I apologize if it is long. Last August my son was killed in an accident on his 18th birthday. People have given me dvds of video of my son running track, playing music, etc. I want to rip these clips from the dvds and open them in iMovie where I'll work on them a little, then combine them all into one larger dvd. Reading this forum, I found out about Mac The Ripper. I used it to rip the dvds to my hard drive. this gives me two folders. The audio folder is empty. The video folder has files labeled: video_ts.bup, video_ts.ifo, vts_01_0.bup, vts_01_ifo, and vts_01_1.vob. I am unable to open these files with iMovie or Final Cut Express. (I really don't have any previous experience with FCE) The appear as grayed out files. So on this forum I read that I needed to "demux" the files. I downloaded ffmpegx to do this. At this point I have several questions. They are probably really basic and stupid, but that is where I am now.

1. I downloaded ffmpegx 0.0.9k. It told me that I was missing some particular file (the name escapes me now). The website said if this happens, download 0.0.9h and switch to k. I downloaded h. To switch to the "k" version, do I just throw away the h version and install k?

2. I looked through all the options on ffmpegx. I went to the website and read all there was to read about it. I couldn't find anything about demuxing files. Can someone tell me how to set ffmpegx up to make these files usable in iMovie?

I apologize if these questions are hopelessly stupid, but I'm trying to find my way through this when I barely speak the language. Any help that you guys can offer would be greatly appreciated.

Mike