VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4
1 2 3 ... LastLast
Thread
  1. Hi - I'm a newbie - I've learned an incredible amount from reading the posts; thank you all.

I have about 300 VHS tapes I now want to transfer to DVD. They are all of TV shows I've taped over the years. They were all taped on hi-fi VCRs which were not S-VHS (i.e., composite connections).

I want the easiest, best-quality way to make the transfers, and I have decided to purchase a Canopus ADVC-100 as a capture device, based on the posts on this site & my own research.

However, I'm confused as to whether I should invest in a VCR with an S-video connection for the purpose of making the transfers. (I'm using my fiancee's old Panasonic VCR to tape these days since mine broke.) My questions are as follows:

1. Will I get better transfer quality by connecting via S-video rather than composite?

2. I understand that the JVC S-VHS machines are the best, but I don't want to spend several hundred dollars on a professional model when I could be putting that cash toward a DVD recorder. Am I helping myself by purchasing an entry-level JVC S-VHS?

3. Finally, many of my tapes were recorded at extended (6-hour) speed. Are there any capturing/editing programs I should be looking at which would improve my eventual DV capture, whether or not I use an S-video connection?

Any answers or other suggestions would be sincerely appreciated. Many thanks.
    Quote Quote  
  2. You can copy with composite, yellow rca jack, just fine. In theory s-video will give you a clearer picture. But since it was recorded from tv, it may not matter.
    You can also run through something like the SIMA switcher. It will convert composite to s-video.
    If any of your tapes are copy protected, so you will need defeat that.
    Plenty of opinions on what works floating around here.

JVC's run about $100.

You can purchase an ILO standalone dvd recorder for $149 at WALMART. Nice recorder.