VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Thread
    Search Comp PM
    A friend of mine who is registering for this site but waiting for his posting day to come asked me for some advice, and this one has stumped me.

Source: Audio DVD
    Ripped: DVDBackup
    DVD2ONE: Gets each chapter as individual .VOB so each song is a .VOB

information shown on one .VOB

He infomred me that all attempts to demux this to get the audio alone have all failed. bbDemux just gives error, ffmpegx only give the video component.

I have never tried a audio dvd before so I have no idea what his next move should be.

Advice?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Maybe try the transcoding features of VLC to save the audio to another format.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    MPEG Streamclip, now that the vob is off the disc. Otherwise just rip with YadeX without saving the m2v part of the vob.
    Quote Quote  
  4. You don't mention what the end purpose is, but this situation made me curious. Although I love Streamclip, it does not seem to want to open audio only vobs for me.

The easiest way i found to extract the ac3 is to use FFMPEGX 0.0.9q (I only verified this with q)

1-Select DVD ffmpeg preset
    2-In video tab select passthrough and uncheck encode
    3-In the audio tab select passthrough but leave the encode checked.
    4-Hit encode.

This simply copies the ac3 part out of the vob so it's very fast. You can queue them all up and let them go: once you've set ffmpegx up all you need to do is drag and drop the other vobs onto the application and hit encode. The only issue is that ffmpegx neglects to add the ac3 extension with this setup, but there are many little utilities that can do that for you in batch.

Hope it helps. Regards
    Quote Quote