VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3
FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 61 to 80 of 80
Thread
  1. I figured out why the fan would not turn off. If your not going to use the TV Guide feature (like me), do not select cable, select antenna.

    It appears that if you don't have any RF input hooked up and select cable it will be searching for the guide when the recorder is off. Hence, that part of the circuit will be operating and turning on your fan.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member Capt_Diode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Niceville Florida
    Search Comp PM
    Tommyoz,

    Thanks for the update. I can confirm that I have not used the tuner yet. The VCR in my entertainment center will not be easy to remove so I have not connected the cable TV yet. I have it conected to the Tivo through S-Video. Still no time to play..... Wife wanted a field trip to Viscaya today.... haven't been there since I was a kid.... Nice place......

    On a side note, my cheapo Balance DVD ($138 Wally Special) will be here tonight. Only feedback I've seen is not good.....

    Ho Ho Ho,
    Captain Diode
    Beep beep, oh no heavy, the coins keep coming out, beep beep, even the telephone hates me, beep beep, I wish there were no machines, and everyone led a pastoral existence, trees and flowers don't deliberately cool you out and go beep in your ear. - Neil
    Quote Quote  
  3. Just got one a couple days ago and it does a great job so far. I have not checked out all the features yet. The TV Guide works good. I did not connected through my satellite since it has its own TV Guide. The only shortfall I have seen is the coaxial output is only a passthrough. That means if you want to view it on Channel 3 so you can view the DVDs on other TVs throughout the house you will need to connected to a VCR with a composite cable then you can connect the coax cable output from the VCR to the wiring throughout the house. I called Sony about this problem and they said that it is the design of this recorder. The video quality is excellent and is very easy to use and seems to be pretty straightforward. Like everybody else there will be a learning curve so I can try all the features.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Capt_Diode
    Thinhtkd & Gshelley61,

    I would love to answer your questions tonight but time just is not there. It turns out I have the house to my self tomorrow night and will have time to perform some tests to answer your questions............
    Cheers,
    Captain Diode
    It's been 3 weeks now and your silence about the Sony seems forever.

    Yvon
    N 45 31' .949" L 73 41' .047"
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member Capt_Diode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Niceville Florida
    Search Comp PM
    Yvon,

    My appologies on the trickle of information. I'm as disappointed about time to play with the new Sony as you are. The recorder is in my living room and with the holidays, my time to use it has been limited.

    Here is what I can tell you so far. DV->HDD transfer is flawless and perfect. Moving HDD->DVD in 1hr or 2hr mode is identical to the original HDD source to my eyes. Moving 1hr TV shows to HDD then to 4hr mode proved that the end result was better than the original. I am in the process of moving Deadwood, Sopranos, and 6 Feet Under. to HDD then to DVD in 4hr mode. I'm not a purist but this in my eyes is fully acceptable. Far better than VHS! The menu is primative with a gray background and simple text. The cut feature is perfect and if you are removing comercials is great. I'm not that happy with the different menu screens. they don't always make sence but I'm still learning. When in the settings you see a line that says record. You select this thinking you will adjust the record settings when you are actually starting a recording. I have not needed to adjust the Brightness, Hue, and Color settings. Again the end result was as good as the original.

    My next series of testing will be with a DV source testing the rest of the record speeds to DVD. I also want to learn more about editing and creating menus. I understand this must be done in VR mode so I will need to learn how to do this and possibly converting VR on my PC to a standard DVD structure. I may have to use 3rd party software to create the menus but again I have not had time for this either.

    When time permits I will to continue to post my findings.

    Wishing everyone the warmest of holiday wishes,
    The light of the world is here!

    Captain Diode
    Beep beep, oh no heavy, the coins keep coming out, beep beep, even the telephone hates me, beep beep, I wish there were no machines, and everyone led a pastoral existence, trees and flowers don't deliberately cool you out and go beep in your ear. - Neil
    Quote Quote  
  6. Originally Posted by Yvon
    Originally Posted by Capt_Diode
    Thinhtkd & Gshelley61,

    I would love to answer your questions tonight but time just is not there. It turns out I have the house to my self tomorrow night and will have time to perform some tests to answer your questions............
    Cheers,
    Captain Diode
    It's been 3 weeks now and your silence about the Sony seems forever.

    Yvon
    Capt Diode;
    Mine should arrived today! Thanks for all posting so far, but have a life and don't claim yourself for not playing with the recorder as much as you like to. I wil post what I am going to find down about the recorder. My main application is transfer VCR tapes to DVD.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member Capt_Diode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Niceville Florida
    Search Comp PM
    thinhtkd,

    Thanks for the understanding! You will not be unhappy with your transfers. The Sony is at its best here. I had a wonderful Christmas but I'm back at work this week. As things go back to normal I will be able to do more testing.

    Happy New Year!
    Captain Diode
    Beep beep, oh no heavy, the coins keep coming out, beep beep, even the telephone hates me, beep beep, I wish there were no machines, and everyone led a pastoral existence, trees and flowers don't deliberately cool you out and go beep in your ear. - Neil
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member Capt_Diode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Niceville Florida
    Search Comp PM
    Update:

    I finally had the time to perform some quality testing. Please keep in mind that this is only my opinion from my observations. One of the reasons for the delay on this testing was figuring out how to dub from HDD to DVD at different record speeds. My initial testing I recorded everything in SP. I finally figured out how to change it and successfully recorded in the seven modes offered. The source is DV recorded to HDD in HQ+ of my son riding his bike for the first time.

    HQ - 1HR
    Dub Mode Fast - 1HR Not 100% Sure
    HSP - 1.5HR
    SP - 2HR
    LP - 3HR
    EP - 4HR
    SLP - 6HR

    HQ, Dub Mode Fast, and HSP:
    I could not tell the difference between the three. I'm sure there are but I could not find them. Pausing anywhere was like looking at a high resolution photo.

    SP:
    As good a picture as above but with faint artifacts around sharp edges.

    LP and EP:
    Artifacts just a tad more noticable and EP seemed to loose some of the sharpness around the edges.

    SLP:
    Noticable but not much artifacts around the edges. Resolution noticably reduced and picture seemed sort of jumpy with motion as if frames were dropped.

    All of the recording speeds are respectable. SLP would be a good choice for soaps (I like Judge Judy, Sorry) or other video with little motion. Although I noticed artifacts around the edges, I never saw any pixelation or macroblocks in any mode.

    I hope some others who have had the chance to look at the 900 can take time to comment on what they have seen. The quality is remarkable in HQ and produced exceptable results in the rest of the modes.

    I took a chance and purchased a cheapo DVD recorder to replace the VHS in my bedroom which failed. I bought it from Walmart under the brand Balance. In its best recording mode it was about what the 900 was in 4 hour mode. I was going to keep the unit but for some reason when I record with the tuner I get a low frequency whine in the background to the point of distraction. Too bad, I didn't mind parting with 139 dollars. Now I need to decide which DVD recorder to replace the Balance unit with. The Lite-On 5045 or the Sony 300.......

    Happy New Year!
    Captain Diode
    Beep beep, oh no heavy, the coins keep coming out, beep beep, even the telephone hates me, beep beep, I wish there were no machines, and everyone led a pastoral existence, trees and flowers don't deliberately cool you out and go beep in your ear. - Neil
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member Capt_Diode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Niceville Florida
    Search Comp PM
    gsquez,

    I have an update for you on the DVD->HDD. I have been unable to copy any DVD to the HDD. It appears that unless this machine made the DVD, it will not dub the DVD. I don't really need this feature but might come in handy if it was available.

    Any chance for a future hack?

    Happy New Year!
    Captain Diode
    Beep beep, oh no heavy, the coins keep coming out, beep beep, even the telephone hates me, beep beep, I wish there were no machines, and everyone led a pastoral existence, trees and flowers don't deliberately cool you out and go beep in your ear. - Neil
    Quote Quote  
  10. Originally Posted by tommyoz
    Well, since I own the RGX-300 I decided to go with the HX900. For my usage I felt this one would be best. I am not surprised of the quality it is exeptional. I still would like to know what chipset they use.
    tommyoz,

    I'm looking to purchase my first DVD Recorder. From my research, I believe I will be going Sony. To help my decision-making process, I'd like your opinion on PQ differences between the RGX-300 & RDR-HX900. Have you compared both for the same source feed? Price is a factor in my decision as well. For my needs, the additional features on the 900 vs 300 isn't a must. The main factor for me is PQ. I can perform additional editing/authoring on computer.

    Any opinions from anyone who's compared RGX-300 vs RDR-HX900 would be appreciated.
    Quote Quote  
  11. johnnynuke,
    My apologies for the late response. I was away for the holidays. In my opinion the recording quality appears to be the same. I only record in 2 hour mode so at least that mode is the same. I haven't really done a comparison with all modes. I have to many recording sessions going on to try something like that. I would think that the rest is the same according to the specs.

    However, the RDR-HX900 which i'm sure you read, offers the HQ+ recording.
    If I read it correctly I thing that's only to the hard drive. I hope this helps.
    Quote Quote  
  12. I found this information from a different user forum. I thought it might be helpful. It is a workaround for chapter divide.

    http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?s=&postid=4920311
    Quote Quote  
  13. I received my HX900 yesterday and I do not have cable or an antenna. Is there a way to disable or workaround the TV Guide feature?

    Thanks in advance.
    Quote Quote  
  14. stickywicket,

    I was in same situation as you. All I was able to do was indicate antenna on setup. It goes thru a quick search of channels. It won't find anything and continues on with rest of setup. Just got to make sure cable/satellite set top box is set to NO.
    Quote Quote  
  15. Originally Posted by johnnynuke
    stickywicket,

    I was in same situation as you. All I was able to do was indicate antenna on setup. It goes thru a quick search of channels. It won't find anything and continues on with rest of setup. Just got to make sure cable/satellite set top box is set to NO.
    I decided to ignore the TV Guide feature. It was very annoying having it display when I turned the recorder on, so I went into its settings and turned the guide's display off.
    Quote Quote  
  16. Originally Posted by tommyoz
    I figured out why the fan would not turn off. If your not going to use the TV Guide feature (like me), do not select cable, select antenna.

    It appears that if you don't have any RF input hooked up and select cable it will be searching for the guide when the recorder is off. Hence, that part of the circuit will be operating and turning on your fan.
    Tommyoz, I did as you said but the internal fan is still on and from time to time searching for The TV guide. Is there anyway to turn off the internal fan and disable the TV guide seaching feature besides pulling the plug.

    As far as PQ I loved it. I did evrything with HQ+ to HD and dub to DVD according to the recording mode that I want to record and the PQ is great even with 4 hrs VHF-->HQ+ HD--->DVD. It's agreat DVDR.
    Quote Quote  
  17. Originally Posted by thinhtkd
    Tommyoz, I did as you said but the internal fan is still on and from time to time searching for The TV guide. Is there anyway to turn off the internal fan and disable the TV guide seaching feature besides pulling the plug.

    As far as PQ I loved it. I did evrything with HQ+ to HD and dub to DVD according to the recording mode that I want to record and the PQ is great even with 4 hrs VHF-->HQ+ HD--->DVD. It's agreat DVDR.
    You may need to bring everything back to factory defualt settings then set it up from scratch. Or do a reboot as stated on page 100 troubleshooting - fan error.
    Even though you don't get the fan error message still do the procedure if the factory settings doesn't work.
    Quote Quote  
  18. Hi guys,
    Please help:
    Since editing is not possible on the HX900's Hardisk, I will have to do it in the DVD-RW disc.
    I want to download a 3hr long video into the RW, chop it up into 4 pieces, ABCD and re-arrange it into CBAD, can it be done?
    Is it practical because I fear that the analogue to digital encoding on the RW disc will take a long time and hang up in the end. Downloading already takes up 3 hrs, how long will it take to encode before I can edit?
    Many thanks.
    Quote Quote  
  19. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    This has been asked before, but since people have had time now to play with their sony 900, maybe you'll have a definite answer now.

    So here's the question again. For sports fans like myself, can I record games onto harddrive at 2hr sp mode, but then when I transfer to DVD... if the game goes 20 minutes longer than 2hrs. Is there away to adjust the bitrate to 2hrs and 20 minutes? Instead of having to choose 3hr mode which overcompromises quality. The pioneers can do this, and I don't understand why it's not a standard feature for all recorders.
    Quote Quote  
  20. [quote="tommyoz
    You may need to bring everything back to factory defualt settings then set it up from scratch. Or do a reboot as stated on page 100 troubleshooting - fan error.
    Even though you don't get the fan error message still do the procedure if the factory settings doesn't work.[/quote]

    Thanks Tommyoz; I did reset to factory setting and it worked. However, It also kept my current time and Cable channels as well so I am be able to record TV show using the timmer just like the 300. So far, the recorder work perfectly and I'm a happy owner now.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads