VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Thread
    Search Comp PM
    Hello,

I've seen those EDTV's out there. What are they?? A stripped down HDTV?????

Kevin

---I'm a complete noob to hdtv, don't have one and not sure when I'll get one. I do know some basics based on working with dvds though ---
    Donatello - The Shredder? Michelangelo - Maybe all that hardware is for making coleslaw?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    Actually, EDTV sounds very interesting. Similar to the conventional TV signal, but without the interlacing. Gets quality close to HDTV. Here's a good article I found. http://www.projectorcentral.com/video_signals.htm

I haven't finished reading it myself.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by redwudz
    Actually, EDTV sounds very interesting. Similar to the conventional TV signal, but without the interlacing. Gets quality close to HDTV. Here's a good article I found. http://www.projectorcentral.com/video_signals.htm

Hello,

Thanks for the link

I guess that makes it a stripped down hdtv than

Kevin
    Donatello - The Shredder? Michelangelo - Maybe all that hardware is for making coleslaw?
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by yoda313
    Originally Posted by redwudz

Hello,

Thanks for the link

I guess that makes it a stripped down hdtv than

Kevin
    Yep, I guess that's why it cheaper that HDTV.
    Originally Posted by lordsmurf
    Nobody likes a bunch of yackity-yack.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Why do you americans use all these silly terms? And that article seems confused, it says 16:9 comes with HDTV, yet doesn't mention it all for "EDTV".....
    What's the point in a progressive 4:3 television set with a 16:9 DVD??