VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 6
FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 90 of 180
Thread
  1. I dont like using RAM discs for a lot of reasons, but I do agree with LS, the ones that went bad work fine when reformated in the computer and used solely for the computer, its weird I guess the DVD Recorder is just more picky

    I have only had about 3 go bad out of the 25 and those get salvaged on the PC as DVD Author test discs
    Quote Quote  
  2. RAM discs only have 2 disadvantages, speed and compatibility, other than that they are the best DVD discs made. They don't need finalized and they never go bad unless the disc was defective. They can be heavily edited and recorded over without ever having problems or leaving seams in recording. Once they have been formatted they never need it again. When recording in the Panasonic I never saw a bad spot in a RAM recording unless it was a bad spot in the cheap Optocrap discs. Most of my JVC recordings have bad spots in them, the ones from this machine and the previous one too. I've only used RAMs in it a few times, saw bad spots in most of them too. On the Panasonic though RAMs were by far the best discs to use.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Master of Time & Space Capmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Denver, CO United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by samijubal
    RAM discs only have 2 disadvantages, speed and compatibility, other than that they are the best DVD discs made. They don't need finalized and they never go bad unless the disc was defective. They can be heavily edited and recorded over without ever having problems or leaving seams in recording. Once they have been formatted they never need it again. When recording in the Panasonic I never saw a bad spot in a RAM recording unless it was a bad spot in the cheap Optocrap discs. Most of my JVC recordings have bad spots in them, the ones from this machine and the previous one too. I've only used RAMs in it a few times, saw bad spots in most of them too. On the Panasonic though RAMs were by far the best discs to use.
    Yep. And DVD-RAM uses error correction and verification similar to a hard disk, so the data is uncorrupted.
    Quote Quote  
  4. I'm not a JVC owner. But I am a Panasonic E80 owner. I do have one theory about some DVD recorders being buggy at times. These DVD recorders use Linux as an operating system for their recorders. And the like and operating system when left on for too long needs to be rebooted. I once had a small problem with my Panasonic E80 after unplugging it for about a minute. The DVDs that put back any showed up as blanks. Before the recorder showed up as not being a blank.

    I have also found on playing my computer when he gets buggy, and turn it back on five minutes later the problems go away.

    so whenever something is not working right unplug it for about five minutes. Let it reboot and see how it works after that.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member ejai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    New York USA
    Search Comp PM
    Most people seem to like the -RW because of speed but I prefer the RAM. I miss recording a show and being able to watch it from the beginning while it's still recording. I've had at least 3 -RW disks go bad on me, everytime I try to use them the LOADING message kicks in.

    The only reason I don't use RAM with the JVC is because I get artifacts throughout the video. This doesn't happen while using the Panasonic, Yet I prefer the JVC.

    I guess you can't have your cake and eat it too.
    Do unto others....with a vengeance!
    Quote Quote  
  6. Let's get back to the thread topic:

    For what it's worth, I bought a DR-M10S just over 3 months ago and used it exactly one time, in the first week, to sucessfully burn a disc (I have a DR-MV1 I use most of the time). Last week when I turned it on (with NO disc in it) it locked up with the "loading" message. Can't turn it off or on, no functions at all. This leads me to believe the 'loading" problem has nothing to do with discs or heat or the power save mode. I just sent it into JVC for repair, and of course it is just past the 90 day the labor warranty!
    Quote Quote  
  7. That's bad news, hopefully it's something minor, mine just passed the labor warranty too. If it dies I'll send it to recorder heaven myself and buy a different one. I wouldn't put anything into the JVC, hopefully next time I'd find something better and more reliable that doesn't know what loading is. I've never had either of the Panasonic machines say loading or do anything resembling it.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Originally Posted by ejai
    Most people seem to like the -RW because of speed but I prefer the RAM. I miss recording a show and being able to watch it from the beginning while it's still recording. I've had at least 3 -RW disks go bad on me, everytime I try to use them the LOADING message kicks in.

    The only reason I don't use RAM with the JVC is because I get artifacts throughout the video. This doesn't happen while using the Panasonic, Yet I prefer the JVC.

    I guess you can't have your cake and eat it too.
    I don't really see a difference in RAM and DVD-R myself, I get the same bad spots in either disc on this machine. I haven't used RW so I dom't know about them. Another reason I'd just let mine die and move on. I canceled my 5-year warranty today, if it dies the warranty was 2/5 of the price of the Toshiba.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Video Restorer lordsmurf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    dFAQ.us/lordsmurf
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by samijubal
    I've never had either of the Panasonic machines say loading or do anything resembling it.
    On the flipside, I've never had a Panasonic output clean quality video, or anything resembling it.

    What we all want, a flawless machine with flawless quality, does not exist. The JVC, aside from a few rare glitches in "loading" message, seems to fit the bill pretty close. I'd guess that it may never exist either. Or at least not for a while. A DVD recorder is nothing more than a computer, with all proprietary parts (or proprietary firmwares to control non-proprietary parts). That's already what separates it from a easy-to-use VCR.

    JVC still fine here.
    Quote Quote  
  10. I didn't see what was wrong with the Panasonic picture myself. The recordings from my 4DTV look great and it rarely had bad spots in the recordings. It didn't have the lines in the picture that all 3 JVCs I've used have had either.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Video Restorer lordsmurf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    dFAQ.us/lordsmurf
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by samijubal
    I didn't see what was wrong with the Panasonic picture myself. The recordings from my 4DTV look great and it rarely had bad spots in the recordings. It didn't have the lines in the picture that all 3 JVCs I've used have had either.
    It's blocky past 2 hours (and even sometimes ON 2 hours).
    Quote Quote  
  12. The macroblocks and mosquito noise I saw with my Panny recordings might not be very noticeable on a direct view CRT television. They were obvious on on my 46" DLP, though. The JVC makes a cleaner, less noisy recording... but it is not a perfect machine. Still, for less than $300 it is very hard to beat. Think of how much something that could make a video recording that accurate and with as much resolution as a DVD recorder does would have cost in the near past. Many thousands of dollars, for sure.
    Quote Quote  
  13. Originally Posted by lordsmurf
    Originally Posted by samijubal
    I didn't see what was wrong with the Panasonic picture myself. The recordings from my 4DTV look great and it rarely had bad spots in the recordings. It didn't have the lines in the picture that all 3 JVCs I've used have had either.
    It's blocky past 2 hours (and even sometimes ON 2 hours).
    I never go over 2 hours on anything, the recordings were fine to me. The only time I ever saw blocks, which was very rare, was on fast moving images. I've seen them on the JVC too, try pausing the picture on a fast moving scene, it has blocks too.
    Quote Quote  
  14. Wasn't this thread about the "Loading" message?
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member ejai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    New York USA
    Search Comp PM
    Macro blocks are visible on both machines after 2 hours, but it shows more on the Panasonic than the JVC. The JVC shows more of a dusting effect, sort of grainy looking noise on fast moving scenes which are not as noticable as they are on the Panasonic, which happens to show actual blocks.

    This is one of the reasons I decided to go with the JVC. My major problem with he Pana is the contour lines on gradient areas. Instead of a smooth transition from light to dark you get contouring lines. This is almost nonexsistant in the JVC.

    Just my opinion, we are a bit off topic.
    Do unto others....with a vengeance!
    Quote Quote  
  16. I would be happy with the JVC too if it wasn't for those lines in every recording. Maybe my house is just cursed or something, but no matter what I do I can't get rid of them and I just can't get past them either. Completely ruins the machine for me.
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    central NJ
    Search Comp PM
    I have also officially joined the LOADING message club.

    Today was watching ESPN and using the JVC's tuner, and the LOADING message started flashing for no reason. I did not have a disc in the machine at the time.

    I unplugged, waited a few seconds, and plugged the machine into the power strip. And the LOADING message was still there. The JVC eventually shutdown.

    I turned it back on. Watched a few minutes of TV.

    Then put in a -RW disc for formatting and got the LOADING message again. Just let it do its thing, and it eventually shutdown.

    I don't use the JVC very much. Somedays I maybe watch 30 minutes of TV. And I've recorded about 10-15 tapes on it. So certainly not a lot of use.

    How long does it take for repair?
    Quote Quote  
  18. Video Restorer lordsmurf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    dFAQ.us/lordsmurf
    Search Comp PM
    Be sure it's not just a bad disc. Don't jump on the bandwagon yet. It's probably something simple.
    Quote Quote  
  19. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    central NJ
    Search Comp PM
    Yeah, but the first time I didn't even have a disc in there when it went into LOADING.

    And these Fuji -RW discs have not seen the wear and tear yours has. Maybe 10 uses at most.
    Quote Quote  
  20. I had my last one go into loading without a disc in it too, it's not always disc related. They've got some issues to work out on these standalones, hopefully future models will last longer. That's doubtful though since as the price drops so too will the quality. If they can make a burner that lasts for 5000 hours or whatever I don't know why they can't make standalones that last too.
    Quote Quote  
  21. Originally Posted by broadway
    I unplugged, waited a few seconds, and plugged the machine into the power strip. And the LOADING message was still there. The JVC eventually shutdown.
    That is the normal process it goes through when unplugged.
    Quote Quote  
  22. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    central NJ
    Search Comp PM
    It did it to me 3x today.

    I have since changed the Power Save option to ON and see if that makes a difference.

    I also connected the TV to a power strip on a different outlet. Originally, the JVC and the TV were both on the same power strip. Maybe it is sensitive to dips in the power. Who knows?

    I'm giving it a few more days. If it keeps up, it is going in for repair. Luckily there's a JVC Factory Service Center here in NJ close to work.

    I can understand poor video encoding quality, etc.
    But an unexplained error message is unacceptable. That's the equivalent of my car's computer stalling whenever it feels like it.
    Quote Quote  
  23. Count me as one of the "loading" victims.

    I've had my M10S for about 2 months. It ran flawlessly for about the first 3 weeks. It gave me the "loading" message and at first, I chalked up to bad media. I inserted new disc and/or powered off/on and it was fine.

    The problem progressively got worse and now I get "loading" regardless of what type/brand of media I have in it (I've tried 4 brands and 4 formats -/+R, +RW, RAM). I've gotten it with no discs in it. I get it when it powers on before the auto clock is set. I get it in the middle of recording, between recordings, and in the middle of finalizing. Obviously something is buggy about my machine.

    It will run for many, many hours withouth a problem but then it will puke, seemingly at a random action.

    The question I have for the group is what is happening when the loading message is legitmately displayed? What process or step is the machine failing at if its "loading"?

    I like the M10 but I'm concerned that this appears to be a pervasive problem with the series. What is the closest competitive model that has a more acceptable reliability?

    I'm disappointed in this unit and based on all the complaints, I'm surprised it still has as many advocates as it does.
    ---Right now I'm having amnesia and deja-vu at the same time. I think I've forgotten this before.
    Quote Quote  
  24. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    central NJ
    Search Comp PM
    Have you tried setting the Power Save option to ON?

    I did that yesterday, and this morning I was able to play my DVD-RW without a hitch. Yesterday, the mere start of playing of a disc caused two instances of the dreaded the LOADING message.

    The thing is, my JVC sits on top of entertainment center so it gets plenty of ventilation.

    If anyone here has spoken to somene in the know at JVC, it would be interesting to know what LOADING message really means.
    Quote Quote  
  25. Count me in as disappointed too, if I can dump the thing before it dies I'm going for the Toshiba. I talked to JVC about the loading thing, all they said is it's a problem with the machine and that's what it does during setup. I can't understand why everyone here thinks this thing is so great either. I think a big part of the problem is heat myself, mine gets far too hot for me, definitely a bad thing when it comes to electronics.
    Quote Quote  
  26. I think mine is just about dead, now it has green lines that come on before the whole image shuts down and it goes to loading, only way to fix it is to unplug it for a few minutes then it works fine again

    It just beeped at me while having green lines on the screen and sat at loading for 10 minutes

    I am going to redo my entire HTS setup and also move the recorder to its own dedicated power area, it worked perfect from April to Sept, then October has just been hell on it, we have had many power outages but its on a surge protector, I wonder if it still just got hit
    Quote Quote  
  27. Eesh. I've seen the green lines.

    To be honest, I think the 'loading' then the green lines then the beep, is the death progression.

    Although this machine has some positive attributes, the reliability is suspect enough for me to look into alternatives. I hate to go against the grain of the respected experience that has recommended these in the past but it seems that there is just too much spotty reliability.

    I don't have anything except some capture cards to compare it against so I'm reluctant to give it a complete thumbs down but I wouldn't necessarily recommend it either.

    To all the new M10 owners: pay close attention to your machine, keep the receipt, and start looking at alternatives. You might get lucky and never have an issue.

    j
    ---Right now I'm having amnesia and deja-vu at the same time. I think I've forgotten this before.
    Quote Quote  
  28. It's too bad that reliability may turn out to be an issue with this machine. It certainly records a great looking DVD. Mine has been working fine so far (knock on wood). I had one -RW quit on me, but none of my other drives could read it either, so I don't blame the JVC for that.
    Quote Quote  
  29. Video Restorer lordsmurf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    dFAQ.us/lordsmurf
    Search Comp PM
    markatisu, I thought you had the combo drive (DRMV1S), not the standalone unit (DRM10S).

    I get green gook on my tuner when on CNN, just for a minute or two at first (then it disappears), but I'm 99.9% sure it's my horrible cable signal causing it. No other channel does it, at least no other channel I've ever recorded (10 or so of them). I see similar things on my LiteOn tuner on certain channels.

    If anybody chooses to bail on JVC, I would turn to Pioneer as second choice.
    Quote Quote  
  30. I have the combo drive and only use the VHS part when tapes dont seem to play well in the 2 SVHS or regular VCR I have, surpringly the crap one built into the unit can do well on some tapes, but not many, that is a different discussion though lol

    Yeah this time I am thinking it was the DVD-R, I tried to finalize it just to save the data and it got halfway and said an error kept it from finalizing so I am thinking this time it was a bad disc

    I just unplugged the unit for 2 hours and am going to redo the whole setup, move it to a different power source and change the cable connections from RG59 to RG6 (I think that is the better one)

    Like I said it worked 110% from April to Sept but now its just starting to crap out randomly and I have found some similar reasons

    -DVD-RW finally going bad (have used the same 25 since April)
    -Machine has dust or other things inside
    -Overheating
    -Bad Power Outlet, the one its plugged into now tends to flake out and lose power, the building was built in 1960 so its not been upgraded much

    at least others have seen the green lines, I have also noticed that it only happens on the DVD side

    Also noticed the loading message comes on when the input goes bad, for instance I had the SVHS plugged in and the tape that was playing went completely stupid and in return the JVC went ape and had a 20 minute loading fit, I plugged it in and recorded it on the VHS side just to see and when the same problem happened the VHS just stopped recording but did not trip the loading

    I think the bad cable signal and bad input could be whats tripping the system, I have noticed when cable goes stupid and the green lines so up thats a precursor to the loading

    Not giving up on it yet since it was such a workhorse for so long but I may get a Pioneer or another JVC just as a backup while this one gets serviced, it would not be the first time I had video equipment serviced and with the way these things are made now I dont expect much more than 6-9 months before problems come out
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads