VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Thread
  1. Hi, I am new to DV capture, and is currently helping a friend transfer training video's to DVD.

Before hand I did some research on the subject and found out, thanks to many posts in these forums, that the Canopus ACDV-100 was the best thing available or one of the best things.

My main question what is the best software to use to capture from video, I've tried Unlead VideoStudio 8, which worked fine, but is there any better capture software that would give you better control over how you capture the video?

-ali
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Hi,

in my opinion it is WinDV ... the price is also OK -> 0,00$!!!!

Here is the link: http://windv.mourek.cz/

I work with this tool for more than 1 1/2 year ... with no bug, no lost frames and no corrupted frames ... [/b]
    In the middle of every difficulty lies opportunity. Albert Einstein
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Want my help? Ask here! (not via PM!)
    FAQs: Best Blank DiscsBest TBCsBest VCRs for captureRestore VHS
    Quote Quote  
  4. When you use windv to "capture" DV to HD avi, or anyhting else like dvio, is it IDENTICAL to the tape? If it is the same, is it possible to put this AVI file back to your DV tape? Thanks
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    When you think of it more like a "data transfer" (concerning material from a DV camcorder)...it's a whole lot easier to understand. Connecting the firewire to your computer from the DV camcorder is a data transfer.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Same here! WinDV is the most stables and user frendly of the bunch. It does break up the stream into mutiple files if saving to a Fat32x formated drive. And it can output anaolg if your device has that abbility.

One feature that would be nice to have is a start-length timer.

Just finish trying it out this week and was solid after four hours of recording the olympic's closing. No drops!
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Search Comp PM