VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Thread
    Search Comp PM
    Hello,

We've seemed to have gotten a lot of basic questions about video stuff lately. Maybe there should be a way for a giant NEWBIE flag to pop up for first timers. And then when you login it disappears??? Just a thought.

Kevin
    P.S. I know people still won't read it but if it's REALLY OBVIOUS LIKE THESE CAPITAL LETTERS they might get it!
    Donatello - The Shredder? Michelangelo - Maybe all that hardware is for making coleslaw?
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    I have an idea...

Perhaps setup a quiz that newbies must complete correctly. At the end there is a special password unique to their login that allows them ask questions on the forum.

As a newbie myself (well I have been lurking on this forum for about six months now) I would gladly pilot this program.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Hello,
    I'm not trying to be mean or anything. It's just that there a lot of questions that are asked that could be answered by reading the FAQ. That's what it is "Frequently Asked Questions". Oh well.

Maybe an alternate to your counter-proposal would be to require the test BEFORE they sign in??? (I'm sure that would work, right? ).

Kevin

EDIT --- Sorry, you said what I just said at the end. Make there login available only after passing the test
    Donatello - The Shredder? Michelangelo - Maybe all that hardware is for making coleslaw?
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM
    How about if a new user registers and clicks to write their very FIRST post, they get redirected to a page that says "First time here?" and then proceeds to suggest that they check the guides or such. Only at the very bottom would be a link to continue and post as they wanted to. This way you could divert some of these people into the guides. (since many people don't bother to look around)