VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hello, this is my first post. I am a total newbie when it comes to video/dvd stuff.
    I am trying to get several avi's I have onto a DVD.
    The avi's have this information (found from info in VLC)
    Stream 0:
    Codec - XVID
    Type - video
    Resolution - 640x352

General
    duration - 45:00

Stream 1:
    codec - mpga
    type - audio
    channels - 2
    sample rate - 48000hz
    bitrate - 128000 bps

File:
    Setting - HAS_INDEX IS_INTERLEAVED
    ---------

I have followed a tutorial, located in one of the moderators sigs.
    I have also tried using these programs, and have not had any luck
    dvd2onex
    ffmpeg
    mpeg2 works
    sizzle

Any help/insight is appreciated.
    thank you.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Here's a basic guide.

Oops, sorry. Just noticed that you wanted help for a mac. Please ignore.
    "Art is making something out of nothing and selling it." - Frank Zappa
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    look to the link in my siguature, should set ya straight
    Quote Quote  
  4. What happens when you try ffmpegx or MPEG2 Works? Both of these are (IMHO) the standard tools for conversion. They handle XViD files very well in my machine, and I have converted dozens of divx/xvid avi files into dvd ready mpeg2s. What happens when you try to convert with these apps? Do error messages pop up? How long are you allowing them to work? It should take a good 3-6 hours for the conversion, are you cancelling out before that?

The easiest way is to get Toast and install either the Divx or 3ivx codecs into Quicktime. Then select DVD under Toast's video tab and drop the AVIs into the window. The quality of the resulting MPEGs may not be the best possible, but you cannot beat the ease of use.

::edited for typos, grammar and general dtupid mistakes::
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM