VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 6
1 2 3 ... LastLast
Thread
    Search Comp PM
    Hello, I am recording individuals through a microphone on my computer, and I would like to get the best quality final product. I am a newbie to recording like a pro, so I dont know much about studios, or equipment studios have. I just record people pretty much for fun, Although I would like a good quality song when I'm finished. I record with a Sony mic I bought recently at Best Buy for about $40, so the mic isnt anything special, but I'd like to get the best out of it.

My method of getting the best quality sound so far is as follows:
    I record the vocals into Magix.
    From there, I open it in Adobe Audition and use the "Noise Reduction" filter to remove static that was recorded from the mic.
    After I apply the filter, I put the instrumental and vocals together to make the song.

What can I do to make the Vocals sound really sharp? Because even after I apply the Noise Reduction filter, it still sounds a little crappy.

Any help is appreciated...
    Quote Quote  
  2. You need to get a better microphone and probably a better sound card as well. If you feed garbage into the computer thats what you're going to get out as well. Audition is a great editing tool but if you don't have a good mic/sound card then it's never going to sound great. If you have a good mic the amount of noise reduction you have to use will be very little if any at all. This will preserve the vocals.

1) what kind of sound card are you using?
    2) get a better microphone.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Well my microphone is http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?id=1051384617215&productCategoryId=cat08343&type=product

My soundcard is just one that was included with my computer... Its an NVIDIA nFORCE...

So with I got now, mic and soundcard, theres nothing I can do to make it sound better? Or do I just have to get a new mic and soundcard?