VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hello everyone. I am a newbie to making dvd's on my pc and I am trying to take footage form my sony dv handycam and make a dvd on my pc. Let me tell you my set up and then my problem.

I have a Sony Vaio Laptop with XP professional, a P4 2.80 ghz processor with 512mb ram and a 80 gig hard drive. It has a dvd burner it it as well (model U50A). My sony handycam is a trv38. I am using TMPGENC 1.5 to author and windv to capture / trnasfer the footage form the handycam to the laptop.

Ok, here is the problem I am having. When capturing using windv I am getting lots of dropped frames. I have read the on line giude on this site to make sure I am using all the proper settings etc..but still many dropped frames. I have read in one of the threads that sony dv cam's do ot work well with windv..is this true? If so which software can I use to solve this problem? I don't mind pay money for a good stable software that will work well. It does not necessarily have to be freeware like windv is. Can anyone help me? Thank you
    Quote Quote  
  2. Is your HDD controller running your hard drive in DMA mode?

That's the only thing I can think of right away that would cause dropped frames on that powerful of a laptop. Even with other background services running (like anti-virus and firewall) my Athlon 1200 rips DV.avi files from my Digital8 cam and doesn't drop frames.

Have you also run Disk Cleanup and Defrag lately?

ScenalizerLive and DVIO are two other DV transfer programs. You might try DVIO first (it's free) and the ScenalizerLive (trialware) and see if you have any better luck...
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Have you checked Lord Smurfs guide on the DVDHelp front page yet?
    " How to avoid dropped frames while capturing by lordsmurf"

Here:

https://www.videohelp.com/guides.php?guideid=635#635
    Quote Quote  
  4. Please correct me if I'm wrong ...