VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Thread
  1. Hi there everyone!

I am a very worried person....I thought that when I copied all of my video collection to dvd-r then they would be safe forever! But now I am hearing scare stories about how delicate and fragile they are!??? Eg: I wrote on them with a permanent marker....can that damage it? when they are dusty I spit on it and wipe it on my shirt if its got finger marks!??? I also bought some with blotches on the purple but they seemed to record alright! what are the possible complications with discs like these? please try to reassure me!?? and I have a dvd that I really want to watch but it won't finalize! can anyone help me please!??

ta in advance!
    I am a dvd novice, please don't be funny with me! :(
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by gentle_ben
    when they are dusty I spit on it and wipe it on my shirt if its got finger marks!???
    ta in advance!

With care like that, do you really expect them to last?

DVD, CD, and any optical media in general is rather fragile. The information side is always exposed. The data is writen on that surface in the form of 0 and 1. If something gets on the surface, and the data can not be read, then it's ruined.

With proper care, it should last a while, a long while. I have pressed CDs from the mid-late 80's that are fine, as well as burnt CD-Rs from '94, and burnt DVD-Rs from 2001 that are still fine. But I take care of my stuff
    Quote Quote  
  3. what do you mean you have burnt dvds from 2001!???? is that supposed to be a great achivement!?????? I thought they lasted almost forever??
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM