VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I'm a new owner of the Pioneer DVR-7000. This machine allows recording in what it calls "VR Mode", which in effect takes a 2-hour DVD-RW disc and expands it anywhere up to a maximun of 6 hours.

This actually works great, but my fear is that discs recorded in VR Mode will be difficult (impossible?) to play back in machines other than a Pioneer DVR-7000.

Is VR Mode strictly a Pioneer invention, or is it a standard technology? Do any of you have any experience with getting VR Mode discs to play in, say, a SONY DVD player?

Thanks!
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    And the ever helpfull answer is.....

it depends

I have no personal experience with the pioneer models but the panasonic unit records to RAM in VRO format at one of the following resolutions

704x576 (PAL)
    704x480 (NTSC)
    352 x 576 (PAL)
    352 x 480 (NTSC)
    352 x 288 (PAL)

depending on the length of the programme recorded. Now in the case of the panasonic you can also record in these modes on dvd-r which should, theoretically, play back on other machines. In my case I don't do this. I record to the RAM disk then copy that off on the PC, edit it, add menus in dvd lab and burn to dvd-r which seems to offer better compatibility.

In the case of the pioneers I've read some postings that it can use non dvd compliant screen modes in its captures, (the dvb standard 544 resolution I believe), which may cause other players problems.

I would suggest taking one of the disks recorded into virtualdub and check out the resolution recorded in the mpeg file. If its a dvd standard, (and the player in question doesn't balk at the non standard VTS layout - e.g. no VOBS but VRO file structure), then I'd imagine it would play ok.