VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. im new to the DV cam scene. can someone tell me what a good make/model is for a DV camera?
    i dont need top of the line. i need something that has good performance for a reasonable price, a bargain i guess.
    thanks in advance.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    I have a Sony TRV-33 and Love it. The TRV-19 and 22 are also very good...and less expensive.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I love my TRV350 and it was really really cheap because it is D8 rather than miniDV.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Banned
    Search Comp PM
    Seems that Sony DVcams are considered overall the best (in the consumer category at least). Keep in mind that an inexpensive miniDV Samsung may do a very good job as well. Read some reviews at dvspot.com as well as other sites like camcorderinfo.com. Generally you get what you pay for, more money = better quality and features. Panasonic, Sharp, Canon are also nice cams (but generally with worse then Sony low light performance). When you decide what to buy read users feedback at epinions.com (may be an excellent point to start your search as well). Digital8 (Sony's proprietary format) is inexpensive and gives excellent quality. MiniDV is more expensive, smaller, lighter but also performs worse in low light (smaller CCD and optics) then Digital8 cams. Determine how much you want to spend and do your research. I own Sony DCR-PC1 and have no complaints altgough a 3CCD cam would certainly be better...
    Quote Quote  
  5. Sony cams considered the best?? Maybe by people who dont know better. Canon ones are. Although the Sony camera line has the most models, lots of them can be disregarded as hopeless in terms of optics and performance.