VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 39
Thread
  1. If you don't already know it, take a look at this OSX extractor nammed "YadeX". It's a french application, but it's easy to use.

    http://www.macetvideo.com/yadex/yadex.html

    Here is the tie to directly download "Yade" :

    http://www.macetvideo.com/yadex/dl_yade.html

    Try the latest "yade_X_fr0.95b".
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    7th layer of hell
    Search Comp PM
    last i checked on (even the french version) of yades it has no decss code added... although i do have the source for the non css carbon version and the os 9 css version if anyone wants them to improve current sources floating around i have them avail.
    As below, so above and beyond, I imagine
    drawn outside the lines of reason.
    Push the envelope. Watch it bend.

    Over thinking, over analyzing separates the body from the mind. Withering my intuition leaving all these opportunities behind.
    Quote Quote  
  3. No Longer Mod tgpo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    The South Side
    Search Comp PM
    YADE is THE ripper of coice on OS 9. I've yet to use the OS X version.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Originally Posted by bilestyle
    last i checked on (even the french version) of yades it has no decss code added... although i do have the source for the non css carbon version and the os 9 css version if anyone wants them to improve current sources floating around i have them avail.
    This has been posted many times. He is right. It has no decss abilities meaning it can't decrypt an encrypted DVD (which 99.9% of all DVDs are). This program is basically useless.

    Here is a Babel Fish translation of the relevant text from the page:

    "One will have needed much time to finalize version X and to add the support of the DVD cryptés with the CSS."

    That line about needing to add the CSS support has been on the page for almost 2 years now.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Originally Posted by Macnewbie
    Originally Posted by bilestyle
    last i checked on (even the french version) of yades it has no decss code added... although i do have the source for the non css carbon version and the os 9 css version if anyone wants them to improve current sources floating around i have them avail.
    This has been posted many times. He is right. It has no decss abilities meaning it can't decrypt an encrypted DVD (which 99.9% of all DVDs are). This program is basically useless.

    Here is a Babel Fish translation of the relevant text from the page:

    "One will have needed much time to finalize version X and to add the support of the DVD cryptés with the CSS."

    That line about needing to add the CSS support has been on the page for almost 2 years now.
    The right translation could be :
    It will have been necessary a lot of time to add the support of DVD crypted with the CSS. Finally, there it is. It's not too early!

    So YadeX has the the decss code code added now.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    7th layer of hell
    Search Comp PM
    yeh hes right i just downloaded it and it most certainly does now we just need someone to get the source code from this version and make a non frenchie version
    As below, so above and beyond, I imagine
    drawn outside the lines of reason.
    Push the envelope. Watch it bend.

    Over thinking, over analyzing separates the body from the mind. Withering my intuition leaving all these opportunities behind.
    Quote Quote  
  7. It's possible to enter the resource file in the contents and change the text of the menus with resourcerer. I second the need for an English localisation however. je suis too chicken to root around in the file.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Originally Posted by bilestyle
    yeh hes right i just downloaded it and it most certainly does now we just need someone to get the source code from this version and make a non frenchie version
    It could certainly be possible.

    Try to contact :

    yade.development@macetvideo.com
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    7th layer of hell
    Search Comp PM
    u can edit it manually with resorcerer but u can only get so much changed, changing anything on teh actual window or in the core of the program the source code would most certainly be needed.. i have the OLD source but not the ones they have recently fixed with decss and it APPEARS RCE as well.. if we could get an english version of this it would bury all the competition.
    As below, so above and beyond, I imagine
    drawn outside the lines of reason.
    Push the envelope. Watch it bend.

    Over thinking, over analyzing separates the body from the mind. Withering my intuition leaving all these opportunities behind.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member WiseWeasel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Can anyone confirm if the new YadeX can remove RCE protection?
    I like systems, their application excepted. (George Sand, translated from French), "J'aime beaucoup les systèmes, le cas d'application excepté."
    Quote Quote  
  11. In theory yes, it does, if you have choosen in the YadeX' menu : 'Protection RCE' the original region provided for the movie, before the ripping and before to save the image disk.

    But sometimes, Yadex cannot remove this protection... In this case it will send you a warning message telling you the image disk will require nevertheless a reader in the good region.

    Je cite :
    "Certains films ont cependant un contrôle logiciel de région supplémentaire appelé RCE. Pour que yade X puisse retirer cette protection, choisissez la région officiellement prévue pour le film dans le menu 'Protection RCE' avant d'enregistrer l'image disque. Attention, yade X peut parfois échouer dans le retrait de cette protection, dans ce cas, yade X affichera une message vous en informant et l'image disque créée nécessitera quand même un lecteur dans la bonne région."
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member WiseWeasel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA, USA
    Search Comp PM
    For you non francophones, the translation is something like:

    Certain films have a supplemental software region control called RCE. For YadeX to remove this protection, you must choose the region officially designated for that release in the "Protection RCE" menu before saving the disc image. Caution: YadeX can sometimes fail to remove this protection, in which case YadeX will display a message informing you that the disc image will still need a player in the official region for that disc.
    Can anyone try this out, and report any success rates you've been having with this method?
    I like systems, their application excepted. (George Sand, translated from French), "J'aime beaucoup les systèmes, le cas d'application excepté."
    Quote Quote  
  13. Thanks for the translation and excuse me for my poor english

    No I did'nt try that, because I did'nt get any movies with RCE protection.
    Quote Quote  
  14. It didn't remove RCE protection from "NO MAN'S LAND". I was not able to change the original region.

    WiseWeasel I am ready to let you borrow this PAL DVD for your research,
    if you need it. BTW I was able to make a perfect PAL back up copy using DVD Duplication Tower. That means that this PAL DVD is not macrovision protected.
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member WiseWeasel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Just out of curiosity, you are aware that for a region X DVD, you have to choose 'region X' in the 'Protection RCE' menu to remove the RCE protection, right?
    I like systems, their application excepted. (George Sand, translated from French), "J'aime beaucoup les systèmes, le cas d'application excepté."
    Quote Quote  
  16. bilestyle..... can you email me the source ( via wiseWeasel) of the Yade app please.
    Quote Quote  
  17. Just out of curiosity, you are aware that for a region X DVD, you have to choose 'region X' in the 'Protection RCE' menu to remove the RCE protection, right?
    I did everything and I tried every possible combination. It didn't work.
    Quote Quote  
  18. the day when mac user are going to enjoy a softwear that fixing this probleme like in pc its in 10 years
    good luck 8)
    PowerBook Titanium G4 1ghz, PowerMac Quicksilver G4 933 mhz, Imac G4 20 tft 1.25 ghz
    Quote Quote  
  19. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Florida
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by zorankarapancev
    Just out of curiosity, you are aware that for a region X DVD, you have to choose 'region X' in the 'Protection RCE' menu to remove the RCE protection, right?
    I did everything and I tried every possible combination. It didn't work.
    Hmmm, it worked for me. I've only tested a couple of DVDs so far. All mine are Region 1, I selected Region 1 in the RCE Menu, hit Save as Image(at least I believe that's what it says). Anyway, Ifoedit and DVDDecrypter both say NO RCE checking present. I'm happy
    Quote Quote  
  20. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    New New York, Year 3000
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by harleyman35
    the day when mac user are going to enjoy a softwear that fixing this probleme like in pc its in 10 years
    good luck 8)
    I don't know what language that is, but it's not english.
    If it isn't broken, take it apart and find out why.
    blog: deadsierra
    Quote Quote  
  21. Originally Posted by TugBoat
    Hmmm, it worked for me. I've only tested a couple of DVDs so far. All mine are Region 1, I selected Region 1 in the RCE Menu, hit Save as Image(at least I believe that's what it says). Anyway, Ifoedit and DVDDecrypter both say NO RCE checking present. I'm happy
    It's a really good new !!!!
    Quote Quote  
  22. Hmmm, it worked for me. I've only tested a couple of DVDs so far. All mine are Region 1, I selected Region 1 in the RCE Menu, hit Save as Image(at least I believe that's what it says). Anyway, Ifoedit and DVDDecrypter both say NO RCE checking present. I'm happy
    TugBoat, this doesn't make sense to me. RCE protection is placed to prevent chenging of Regions. You didn't change the Region on your DVD's when you made a back up. Your original DVD's and the copies are Region 1. Can you find out if your originals are RCE protected and can you change their Region code using YADE? So far, nobady was able to do that.
    Quote Quote  
  23. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Florida
    Search Comp PM
    RCE protection is placed to prevent changing of Regions.
    That's not what I understand. Which doesn't necessarily make it gospel. The way RCE works, as I understand it, is that ALL RCE protected DVDs are Region FREE by default. The Disc tells the player that region 1-8 is enabled. This way the player doesn't suspect anything. Then the Disc asks the player if it will play a Region 8 disc. The player says sure I'll play that, errreettt... wrong answer. Disc will not play.

    As far as I can tell, the solution is to replace the IFO sentence(s) that queries the drive "Set GPreg<0> mov SPreg<player region code>" with the sentence "Set GPreg<0> mov (set-val)<1>". This would be for a Region 1 disc. At least that's what DVDDecrypter 3.1.9, Ifoedit 0.96, and now Yade 0.95b appear to be doing. Makes sense. It basically satisfies the disc that the player is for the region that the disc is meant for. The Region Code doesn't have to be changed because the disc is already enabled for all regions. The fix is to set the IFO file for the region that the disc is meant for in that sentence(s) that queries the drive.

    Whatever, all I know for sure is that after ripping Men in Black II, Tears of the Sun, and Die Another Day with YadeX, Ifoedit and DVDDecrypter say "IFO is Region 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8" "RCE Protection NO". All these discs were flagged as having "RCE Checking Present" before ripping. As with other programs, YadeX will probably not work with all Discs.... I'll let you know when I find one
    Quote Quote  
  24. I have never had a problem converting Region 1 DVD's to Region 0, so they can play anywere in the world. I have a problem (and for that matter so does everybody else that has raised this question on several threads on this forum) converting Region 2 DVD's to Region 0 (or Region 1) , and untill somebody will call with the solution to THIS problem ( I am talking about Mac computers) it will stay as an unresolved challenge. In my best knowledge, there is no Mac software that completely and with full satisfaction adresses this question.

    Untill then, the platform of choice for converting Region 2 DVD's will be PC.
    Quote Quote  
  25. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Florida
    Search Comp PM
    Well, since I don't own a single region 2 disc, I don't know what to tell you. I did find a couple Region 1 DVDs that are listed as Region 1 only with RCE Checking present. So the theory of all RCE disc being region free doesn't fly. I checked them with the infamous Ifoedit and DVDdecrypter and also checked the file. Then I ran YadeX. Now they are both listed as Region 1-8 and NO RCE checking. I can only assume they will work in any player.

    What does Ifoedit and DVDdecrypter say about your problem Disc(s)? Before and after YadeX? That might be interesting. As far as I know, all you have to do in YadeX is set the "Protection RCE" for Region 2 (if the Disc is meant for Region 2) and then 'Creer une Image Disque". Glad I don't live in Region 2, I'd hate to have to buy a PC. I'd probably spend my time trying to get VPC to see the DVD drive for what it is, not the 1X drive it seems to think it is.....
    Quote Quote  
  26. I have offered a Region 2 DVD at my expence to a computer wizzards to take a bite and to come out with a solution to this problem. So far, no one has responded. My offer is still valid.
    Quote Quote  
  27. Hmmm...I only have one Region 2 disc, but I had no problems making it region 0, on a mac.

    It's the Italian Job (1969, the original) and I had to order a region 2 disc because (at the time anyway) it was not available in region 1.

    I used DVDBackup, DVD2One, and Toast. It all went fine, and I have actually ripped it twice, because my first backup got horribly scratched.

    I might also add that my DVD-Rom drive has been patched with a region-free firmware. My burner is in an external case and has not been used for ripping.

    G4 400 Mhz, 10.3.x.
    Quote Quote  
  28. might also add that my DVD-Rom drive has been patched with a region-free firmware. My burner is in an external case and has not been used for ripping.
    ...maybe we have descovered something... DVD-Rom has been patched with a region-free firmware... or maybe this DVD was not RCE protected at all.
    Quote Quote  
  29. Member WiseWeasel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Yeah, sounds like it was not RCE protected. Zora: Have you tried setting the 'protection RCE' menu to 'region 2' in YadeX, and then saving the disk image? That is how it's supposed to work, and you get an error dialog if it fails to remove the RCE protection. Once you have the 'protection rce' menu option set to region 2, it should make a region-free DVD for you.
    I like systems, their application excepted. (George Sand, translated from French), "J'aime beaucoup les systèmes, le cas d'application excepté."
    Quote Quote  
  30. That is how it's supposed to work, and you get an error dialog if it fails to remove the RCE protection.
    ...and I am getting that error dialog like everybody else that has raised this question on the forum.

    We need a reliable Mac software that completely and with full satisfaction will adress this problem.

    I am not a computer wizzard, so please, explain to me what kind of the obstacles we are facing here in order to find a solution for this chalenge?
    Is it possible to solve this problem or not?

    The PC people are loughing at us!
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads