VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Could anyone please recommend the best software for my needs, I am a complete beginner and want to capture video from my Sony digital 8 camera and edit and add music,titles and burn to a VCD with the ability to do DVD when I buy a DVDR. Thanks to all who can help, it's a bit of a minefield out there........BTW I am somewhat constrained by $'s but I use Ebay for seconds.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Seems to me the art of research is dead...With that said.

I started out about 3 years ago with similar spec to yours, so the equipment is satisfactory (but as always new is better)

HARDWARE :
    firewire card
    bigger drive suggested

SOFTWARE :
    DVIO (free) will 'transfer' your DV onto your computer.
    VirtualDub (free) will cut and add filters then can "frameserve" to a MPEG encoder
    AviSynth (free) a framserver
    bbMPEG (free) encoder
    TMPGEnc (trial /free MPEG1) encoder

For a few dollars now : Vegas Video 4 is a good rounded package.

If you want 'the ability to do DVD' later on then it is proberly best to make miniDVD then you will have valid resolutions and audio.

][
    Quote Quote  
  3. Thanks for the tips, I will check out the freeware.

I have done research but as I said it's a bit of a minefield out there and I was merely asking for help from some experts.

Concerning $$ software I was considering Adobe Premiere 6 or 6.5 and Nero 6, would this be a good idea?
    Quote Quote  
  4. I will throw out a thought. Give a try to Ulead DVD Movie Factory 3. If you like the trial, it's just $100 and I don't believe you'd need to buy any other software at all.

I really dig this software package.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Hi wee,