VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I am very new to this and would appreciate any and all help to do the following.

I have the Dish System and would like to capture movies and some programing I order to my hard drive, then burn it to a DVD. What are some of the recomended video cards to use and the steps to achieve this.

Thank you all very much.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    My Method:

1) Hardware Mpeg2 Capture with Dazzle DVC II (Pci bus)
    2) Author via TmpGenc Author
    3) Burn via Nero 5.5

I use Bitrate Calc to determine bit rate for CBR capture.

Very good results and fast. A 2 hour movie from capture to DVD in about 2 1/2 hours.

I bought my card used off Ebay for under $100.
    Quote Quote  
  3. I --

1) Capture with ATI AIW 7500 Radeon
    2) Encode with TMPGENc Plus(if not capturing directly to MPEG2)
    3) Author with DVD-Lab
    4) Burn with Nero 5.5
    Quote Quote  
  4. Capture with Avermedia card using VirtualVCR (no drops)
    Encode with CCE
    Author with DVD Maestro
    Burn with Record Now Max
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Search PM
    1) Capture the digital mpeg2 stream directly with a DVB-S card
    2) Demux video and audio streams with pvastrumento
    3) Import the streams to DVDlab, author and burn to DVD

No quality loss at all because DVB and DVD both use mpeg2 no reencoding is needed. It is copied directly from DVB to DVD.
    This may not work if your satellite does not use the DVB system.
    Ronny
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    @ ronnylov: This is a valid method only if the DVB transmission has a valid DVD framesize (720/704/352 x 480 (576 PAL). DVD Lab accept of course other framesizes, non DVD standard, but then you do a kind of xDVD not a true DVD. Plenty DVD standalones play those, same way they can play xSVCDs or xVCDs.