VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 6
1 2 3 ... LastLast
Thread
  1. Hi,

I'm just starting out in converting my old VHS tapes to DVD (as seem to be half the people in this forum ) and I'm looking at a new HDD just for capture. I'm intending to go the .avi route for at least some of the better quality tapes (others I will just go to mpeg2), but I do have some "original" bought tapes that I'd like to get in the highest possible quality.

My main question is using the codecs (probably the free ones but might look at mjpeg), how big are .avi files per hour? I was wondering if 120gb should be enough for 3hrs of .avi at "high" quality (I guess I'll need at least 2.5hrs for some of the original movie tapes)?

I'm gonna be capping from a GeForce 4 Ti4600 VIVO card, using (probably) virtualvcr or iuvcr. Editing probably with virtualdub - can I edit a 3hr .avi or would I need to split it?

Audio - as I'm going to DVD I assume I use the AC3 settings... does this get split from the .avi to be cleaned up separately? If so, can you tell me what I need to do as some of the tapes will need the audio volume increasing / de-hiss etc. I have CoolEdit, and an old SoundForge somewhere.

Any advice appreciated, especially on settings for getting the best quality conversions...
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    I'm not UP on capturing....so 120gigs sounds MORE than reasonable to me... But you should know that all those gigs don't mean SQUAT if the HD is not formatted in NTFS. FAT32 format only allows you 4gig files TOPS.
    Quote Quote  
  3. I realise that - I'm using Win2k Pro and the drive will be NTFS formatted... I have a 20gb partition formatted the same way that I've been experimenting with, so I know it's ok, I just wasn't sure if 120gb would do or if I would need to go to 160gb...
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM
    AVI is about 30Gb / Hr I think so you should have no space problems provided you work on a project at time.