VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5
1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 146
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    I just got my DVR-5100H

    Before I hooked it up I had to check under the hood.

    To my surprise it was fitted with a standard DVD-Writer (Pioneer DVR-106)
    The Recorder only supports DVD-R/RW but the 106 supports both -/+ right? I guess I have to check if it's possible to write DVD+R/RW too.
    But maybe it's fitted with another firmware, or the 5100H itself has limitations in the software.

    I've tried to play DVD+R discs and it works without any problems.
    The manual doesn't mention anything about + playback.

    My current plans are hooking up the DVD Writer with my computer to check firmware version. Another interesting thing will be to test my NEC ND1300 with the recorder instead of the pioneer writer.

    The hard drive is a Western Digital 80Gb
    I don't have any bigger IDE drives lying around so I can't check the behavior when adding something else (yet).

    Anyone having more tech information of this recorder?
    I will post images of the interior if someone is interested.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    OK, Here are the photos (click to enlarge)



    Quote Quote  
  3. Withdrawn
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    Yeah, you're right, I won't get the extra edit features of +RW
    but the possibility to write those discs as -RW would be nice.

    I bought 50 -R discs so I won't have to buy any new in the nearest future.
    But my previous DVD writers only supported +RW so I got some of these discs as well.

    Strange about the photos, I can se them without any trouble.
    Try these links:

    http://w1.828.telia.com/~u82806051/01b.JPG
    http://w1.828.telia.com/~u82806051/02b.JPG


    Continuing with the topic, here's some more info I gathered.

    It seems like software updates, including multi region hack, is done by inserting a firmware CD.

    A couple of new models are coming up: with larger HDD the most expensive model 710H got progressive scan output and a different video DAC.
    Quote Quote  
  5. I just got my DVR-5100H
    Destroyer, aside from the format issue, have you gotten enough of a look at your 5100 to make any judgemens on the picture quality of its play and record functions? I'm looking at the US equivalent (the new 510) and haven't seen any quality assessments yet.

    Doesn't the 5100/510 have progressive scan playback?

    Thanks.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    What I've seen so far from the few recordings I've made using a digital satellite receiver as source, is that the quality is excellent, at least in the FINE mode (1h on a single DVD, 17h on the HDD). I can't tell the difference between the broadcast and the recorded material. This is very difficult in the SP mode as well (32h on HDD and 2h on a DVD). When using the EP mode that will fit 6h on a DVD and 102h on the HDD the quality is bad, much like a third hand VHS copy.

    These settings could be done manually in 32 steps so there are quite many possibilities. I'm using a video projector (Philips bSure2) which might make the LP mode looks even worse than on a ordenary TV.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    Doesn't the 5100/510 have progressive scan playback?
    The 5100 doesn't but it seems like the 510 has.
    The 510 however seems to lack the DV out.
    Quote Quote  
  8. The 5100 doesn't but it seems like the 510 has.
    The 510 however seems to lack the DV out.
    From some of the spec sheets:
    "PureCinema™ de-interlacer with 3-2 pulldown processing"

    and I believe its firewire port is input/output.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Originally Posted by PhilipL
    While the drive may indeed by a dual-writer, I fail to see why you would want to record to +RW/+R.
    In my case answer would be : "Because I have about 20 DVD+RW discs and only 2 DVD-RW, already."
    Quote Quote  
  10. Withdrawn
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    Just made a quick check switching the DVR-106 to a NEC ND1300A
    it didn't work. I wasn't able to connect it to a TV so I'm not sure if there were some error messages displayed.

    I haven't checked the DVR-106 in a computer yet. Would be interesting to see the firmware version.

    Pioneer claims that when flashing the PVR-106 no downgrade can be done.
    So I wouldn't dare to try flashing it with a RPC1 firmware to check if the region lock disappears. What if the 5100 don't recognize it afterwards.

    Anyone with a PVR-106 in their computer?
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Sweden/Norway
    Search Comp PM
    Wow - this is great stuff!
    Thanks Destroyer for providing pictures!

    I have already ordered myself one DVR-5100HS.
    (thats what is says on the webpage..)

    Really looking forward to checking out this too..

    You guys really helping out - I also want to beat this machine..
    escpecially if we can remove the macro vision

    btw; I read that the DVR-5100HS has progressive scan, BUT only in NTSC mode.
    Quote Quote  
  13. Withdrawn
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    Here's another photo from when I removed the HDD.
    (Click to enlarge)

    Quote Quote  
  15. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Sweden/Norway
    Search Comp PM
    Nice pics, dude! 8)
    Please, post more! I recon you already have selected "macro" on you camera, to take close-up shoots.

    When we find soldering info, these pics will be good to follow. Just need some arrows on the diagrams
    Quote Quote  
  16. The pioneer 5100 is a fabulous machine let down only by it's failure to support RGB input.

    Can anybody see if there is a way it can conceivably be made to support RGB input?
    Quote Quote  
  17. Withdrawn
    Quote Quote  
  18. Withdrawn
    Quote Quote  
  19. Hello,
    Could anybody please tell me if the US version (510H) allows for NTSC/PAL.
    I have lots of PAL tapes that I would like to transfer to DVD-R.
    Also does the machine record audio in LPCM format? I hat Dolby Digital.
    One more thing. If I record a concert video, can I add chapter points wherever I need to for each song? I believe the PANASONIC E100 allows for this kind of editing but will always add a chapter point if a songs is over 5 minutes long.
    Thanks a lot

    Javier
    Quote Quote  
  20. Is it possible to hack the 5100 so that I can record video that it claims is copy protected? I have a DVD player that I can play through the 5100 with no evidence of picture distortion, however, it won't let me record the signal

    Any fixes?
    Quote Quote  
  21. Fix your player... not recorder It is cheaper when you f..k it.
    Quote Quote  
  22. Originally Posted by donpedro
    Fix your player... not recorder It is cheaper when you f..k it.
    So, you're saying it can't be done?
    Quote Quote  
  23. Originally Posted by kzod
    Originally Posted by donpedro
    Fix your player... not recorder It is cheaper when you f..k it.
    So, you're saying it can't be done?
    Everything can be done. It is all matter of time and money

    So far I didn't see any hack on any DVD Recorder. I guess they are too expensive to "play" with them :P On the other side... I saw a lot of DVD Players hacked, enabled and all that stuf...
    Quote Quote  
  24. I think my player is hacked at the factory. I ca play it and watch through the DVD recorder with no macrovision effects. But somehow the DVD recorder knows that it's copy protected. Are there any work-arounds? I'm already a couple days late returning my DVD and still haven't watched it! I need a back-up!
    Quote Quote  
  25. Originally Posted by kzod
    I think my player is hacked at the factory. I ca play it and watch through the DVD recorder with no macrovision effects. But somehow the DVD recorder knows that it's copy protected. Are there any work-arounds? I'm already a couple days late returning my DVD and still haven't watched it! I need a back-up!
    Macrovision doesn't do anything when you are watching. Only when you record. For example to VCR. In DVD world there is one more copy protection. Try to read or search this forum. It was dicussed here couple of times.
    Quote Quote  
  26. Member rhegedus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    on the jazz
    Search Comp PM
    Fantastic post!

    I'm not sure if I'd have the guts to open it up the day I bought it

    Two questions:

    Have you tried to link the Pioneer to PC using firewire? Can you transfer files this way instead of burning and ripping?

    Is the HD a standard one or is it formatted in a different way to PC HDs. I'm as curious as you are to see if the 80Gb HD could be replaced by a 250Gb monster!

    Once again, great post!
    Regards,

    Rob
    Quote Quote  
  27. Originally Posted by rhegedus
    Have you tried to link the Pioneer to PC using firewire? Can you transfer files this way instead of burning and ripping?
    Based on what I know. NO. It does VIDEO signal transfer only.
    Quote Quote  
  28. Member rhegedus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    on the jazz
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by donpedro
    Based on what I know. NO. It does VIDEO signal transfer only.


    So it's only good for video input?
    Regards,

    Rob
    Quote Quote  
  29. That is why it is called DVD Recorder
    Quote Quote  
  30. Member rhegedus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    on the jazz
    Search Comp PM
    Ha! Ha! Ha!

    Just thought I could cut out the burn and rip steps and transfer straight to PC. Not that foolish an idea, is it?
    Regards,

    Rob
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads