VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi all

I am new to burning DVDs and was wondering what I should be looking for - my DVD burner writes to DVD-Rs and 4x and DVD-RWs at 2x.

Any help would be appreciated.

Many thanks.
    Quote Quote  
  2. I would invest in a couple of rewritables to get you started (I still prototype my stuff occasionally), and then look at the many media based threads already in the forum.

Also, look up your DVD player in the list to the left to see what other people have said about it regarding media compatibility. You might find some discs work much better than others and subsequently save you some hard earned cash and time in "trial and error".

My personal recommendations for -R would be (in no real order)

Ritek G03 / 04
    Nan-Ya
    Pro-disc

... all of which seem very compatible with my DVD player which is an absolute arse when it comes to recordable media.
    Quote Quote  
  3. A lot of companies do starter packs which has a variet of discs so you can find out which ones work best on your setup. I recommend starting with one of these.
    If it's wet, drink it

My DVD Collection
    Quote Quote  
  4. Agreed - that is a good point.

For example, look at the first product here:

http://www.blankdiscshop.co.uk/acatalog/FOR_DVD_R_RW_CLICK_HERE.html

There are other companies out there doing a similar thing, but I have got on well with SVP and would say that if you're in the UK, you could do a lot worse than these guys.
    Quote Quote  
  5. I agree SVP are one of the best I also like cd-rmedia.co.uk
    If it's wet, drink it

My DVD Collection
    Quote Quote