VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Guest
    Hey all,

First post, so I hope this isn't too "newbie".

I'm new to DVD burning, but fairly experienced at CDR. It's time for a new system, and my company has an employee purchase plan with Dell, which makes it fairly attractive for me to buy a new Dell.

So I'm looking at a new Dell 4600. Fairly beefy in the normals specs, 3GHz, 2 GB RAM, big hard drive, all that. But what I'm wondering is if anybody knows anything about the "Dell" 4X DVD+R.

I'm not looking to mass produce DVDs. I plan to try to learn about DVDR, and probably make some VHS --> DVDs for family and friends. I've already verified my home DVD player will support DVD+R.

So my question is, does anyone know anything about the Dell 4X DVD+R? Or about the Dell software/hardware packages in general regarding DVD? For example who really makes the drive? Is it reliable? Anything about the Movie Studio Plus (the dell software package)?

If I was experienced at DVD burning I'm sure I would opt for a more appropriate model. From my CDR experience, and reading the forum, Plextor drives look nice. But give the convenience and price discount I would get, does anyone see any problems with the Dell DVD writer?

Thanks!
    Mike
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Don't buy a DELL dude!

If it is the customer support you are after then sure go for it. But remember that will expire.

I don't want to come off as a dell hater ,but after looking at the propriatry nature of their machines over the years I am just put off.
    Seems that the questions regarding computer problems that i have gotten over the years from : neighbours, friends, work associates ....... are related to DELL, HP and 'shudder' emachine computers.

Nowdays when someone asks me to fix their computer i ask "Home built or Factory" . When the above names (and others) are mentioned ,I just shake my head and say ....." OK - i will try but it is a lost cause."