VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I'm not new to video/editing/dvd production, but I am new to all these avi/mpeg conversion problems.

I have two questions.

1. When people rip from a dvd, why do they set the avi framerate to 23.976? Why don't they just keep the 29.976 framerate of the DVD? What is the advantage of doing an Inverse Telecine on it? It will still play properly in a computer at 29fps.

2. I'm trying to put an AVI movie onto a DVD. The movie is an AVI file with a framerate of 23.976 and a size of 576x320. I would like to explain how I'm doing it and see if anyone has a better process. My problem is that I'm burning the finished DVD onto a DVD+RW and playing it in a Philips 985 Stand alone burner/player.

While playing the DVD, the picture repeats a section of video about 5 seconds long, several times through the DVD. Other than this, the DVD is perfect.

Here's what happens: The timer stops on ...say 2:44, while the picture plays normally for about 5 seconds. Then the last 5 seconds of video repeats itself, while the timer continues normally. In other words, when the timer stops, it acts like it rewinds for about 5 seconds, starts the timer going, and plays that section over again. You might have to read that several times to get the exact timiing here.

This happens numerous times throughout the movie. It is NOT in the VOB files on the HD.

I used VirtualDub to convert the framerate to 29.976.
    Used Main Concept Encoder to create a standard MPEG2 file.
    Use Ulead Video Studio 6 to Author the DVD (very simple UI).

The computer that I'm using is a 1.8Ghz eMachine if that makes any difference. I'm using hp DVD+RW (Ricoh) disks, and Ulead burns the DVD, using a HP 300i burner.

There's a lot of information in this forum, but I can't seen to find an exact solution to my problem. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM