VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
    Search Comp PM
    Obviously by the question I am pretty new at this so wanted to ask those "in the know" before I produce the dreaded "coasters". I have burned several dvd movies while backing up my collection using dvd+r blanks. My question is this, are dvd-r blanks as good quality wise for recording movies as dvd-r? The -r's are much cheaper than +r's is the reason for my question. Would it be strictly a compatability issue with the hardware. I am using a Pioneer DVD 105 Rom and the new Plextor 708 recorder if this helps answer my question. Thanks to everyone for the advice.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Would it be strictly a compatability issue with the hardware.
    Yes. There shouldn't be a difference in quality.
    Quote Quote  
  3. I can make 100% compatible DVD's with my Memorex DVD+R/W drive. Any Ricoh based + burner can set the book type to DVD-ROM which make the disk 100% compatible, no - burner can do that.
    "Terminated!" :firing:
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Thayne are you saying that you can not use dvd-r's for burning movies eventhough my burner, Plextor 708 is capable of burning both DVD +-R/RW. Thank you for your reply.
    Quote Quote  
  5. No, you can use dvd-r's all I was saying is I can make 100% compatible with the +R's. -R's are about 85% compatible with set top players. For you it really doesnt matter. Your burner cannot set the book type so it doesnt really matter.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Gotcha! While I am at it have you found any particular brand of discs better than others. I have been using fuji so what but they too are expensive compared to maxwell, memorex, tdk, etc. I was just afraid to buy the other brands as I did not know. I am in the process of backing up my entire collection, 280+ movies, so price is a real issue but then so is quality. Thank you.
    Quote Quote