VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
Closed Thread
Page 1 of 4
1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 109
Thread
  1. All I'm wondering is if you make a backup of a disc, can you then turn around and just do a disc copy of it?

    Or, stated another away, if you have a backed up DVD on a DVD-R, is there any way to take that DVD-R and copy it to a different DVD-R?

    I've been wondering about this...maybe someone can help me out...
    As I always say in this forum regarding DVD issues, and as is my motto in life: You get what you pay for!!

  2. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    The Scottish Highlands
    Search Comp PM
    And might I ask why you would want to do that.

    To answer your question as long as you have removed macrovision and the like then you can copy it like a data DVD.

  3. I have tried backing up DVD-R using DVD Decrypter successfully!
    I ripped as ISO to HD and copied it to new DVD-R.

  4. Yeah; its easier too as you have probably figured out by now.

  5. Banned
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Search Comp PM
    Macrovision has nothing to do with it.

    Once you've made ONE copy, the CSS is gone and it's just data on the disc. You may copy away.

    Can you? Legally? I'm not gonna get into that, and I'll assume you're being honest.

    - Gurm

  6. Thanks for the insight guys. I figured that if I rip the files, shrink them, then burn, I obviously have everything on 1 disc and could treat it like a DVD-5 and just use Decrypter.

    As for the legality of it, I TOTALLY understand and I was not getting at that at all. I was just bored at work wondering how that would work.

    Believe me, I don't mess around with that illegal crap...I have enough to worry about without the Feds breathing down my neck.
    As I always say in this forum regarding DVD issues, and as is my motto in life: You get what you pay for!!

  7. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Best Coast, Canada
    Search Comp PM
    You can do it and this is how and why I did:

    I got a DVD+RW disk ( for testing ), ripped a DVD to HD using DVDShrink, burned a copy to DVD+RW using Nero Express and tested on home DVD player, it worked. Then I just copied that DVD+RW to DVD-R using disk copy feature of Nero.

    P.S. My DVD burner is -/+ capable and I got DVD+RW disk as it's rated at 2.4x as opposed to -RW that are normally 2x.

  8. Member housepig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    the Plains of Leng
    Search Comp PM
    as for the legality, obviously you don't want to ask this about backup commercial discs.

    but for example, I backed up a bunch of concert footage of my old band. now if any of the other members want copies, I can run them off of the disc I've made, rather than keeping 5Gb of material on my hard drive forever...
    - housepig
    ----------------
    Housepig Records
    out now:
    Various Artists "Six Doors"
    Unicorn "Playing With Light"

  9. Banned
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Search Comp PM
    Yep. If you have a good reader and a good burner, you can just slap the two discs in (original and blank) and hit "copy" on your favorite program, since there's no CSS left.

    - Gurm

  10. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Kansas City MO
    Search Comp PM
    Federal prison is not a nice place!

  11. Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Search Comp PM
    some companies put mark errors on their discs intentionally

    so you can't make a backup of a backup

    there are ways around that, however

  12. Originally Posted by PyrosofT
    To answer your question as long as you have removed macrovision and the like then you can copy it like a data DVD.
    macrovision is to prevent analogy copying..(i.e. VHS)...so, errrr....nope

    also, you wouldn't be using RecordNow Max, would you??? in that program, yes...you do burn the DVD as DATA DVD.... however, in Nero and Nero Express, you would burn the DVD as DVD VIDEO

    -----------

    @mdubnik,

    simple solution:

    1) copy the VIDEO_TS folder from your DVD-R to your hdd using windows explorer

    2) burn the files in that folder using your favorite DVD burning proggie (i.e. Nero Express, which i use)

  13. Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Orlando
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by vance43211
    some companies put mark errors on their discs intentionally

    so you can't make a backup of a backup

    there are ways around that, however
    what is the way around this cuz ill make a backup of an original then when i try to make an additional copy of the dvd-r cuz it starts to get scratched up sometimes i get errors and cant copy tell me what is the solution to get around this please

  14. Originally Posted by zzNyQuilzz
    it starts to get scratched up sometimes i get errors and cant copy tell me what is the solution to get around this please
    can you at least copy the VIDEO_TS folder from the DVD to the hdd???

  15. Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by poopyhead
    Originally Posted by zzNyQuilzz
    it starts to get scratched up sometimes i get errors and cant copy tell me what is the solution to get around this please
    can you at least copy the VIDEO_TS folder from the DVD to the hdd???
    you can do that

    or instead of doing disc copy

    with Nero

    burn as dvd video

    and pick the Video_ts folder from your dvd drive (Nero will ignore the errors this way and only pick up the dvd files)

    this will take awhile

    then burn

    with instantcopy

    instead of doing disc copy

    navigate to the main video_ts ifo of your dvd in the drive

  16. I find it easy to use DVDshrink on DVDR to copy to hard drive 8-10 minutes, then use recordnow (data mode) to reburn to DVDR, by the way these are not backups but are of my own Home video's on DVD or programs I got off dishnet. But I am sure this method will work for any DVDR you want to make another copy of.

  17. Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Search Comp PM
    yeah you can rerip with SmartRipper too

    it should take 5-7 minutes

  18. Banned
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Search Comp PM
    Why, why, WHY would you use a ripper?

    It's no longer protected.

    Drag... drop... done.

    Gpar_

  19. Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Search Comp PM
    it's faster than copy and paste

  20. Originally Posted by vance43211
    it's faster than copy and paste
    how so???

  21. Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Search Comp PM
    a dvd5 takes me about 12 minute to copy and paste

    a dvd5 rip is about 5-7 minutes

    somebody mentioned that on this site months ago

    (about how reripping is faster than coping and pasting)

    and i have reripped ever since

  22. Banned
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Search Comp PM
    Depends on your drive, the drivers, etc.

    On my machine they take exactly the same amount of time.

    - Gurm

  23. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Search Comp PM
    I don't understand any of this!

    Just do a damn Disc Copy, it will work, it's the easiest and fastest way!

  24. Banned
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Search Comp PM
    There is that, too.

    - Gurm

  25. I didnt read it all but there are times when you cant copy a copy though. Dont DVDxCopy block this?

    HideOut

  26. Banned
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Search Comp PM
    No, DVD X Copy doesn't block this...

    What happens is that their program sees that it's a copy made with that program, and refuses to copy it. Any other program will copy it just fine.

    There are NO cases in which you "can't copy a copy". You can, always, every time.

    (Unless you purposely added CSS to the copy... which is hard and stupid and maybe not even possible, I just didn't want people flaming me for saying "never".)

    - Gurm

  27. Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by roach1976
    I don't understand any of this!

    Just do a damn Disc Copy, it will work, it's the easiest and fastest way!

    no it won't

    a lot of companies insert marked errors on their dvd movies

    on purpose

    so you can't make a copy of a copy of a dvd movie

  28. Banned
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Search Comp PM
    Umm...

    ONCE IT'S COPIED ONCE, IT'S GOT NO PROTECTION.

    This "marked errors" line you keep touting makes no sense.

    Once it's copied, it's copied - and deprotected 100%.

    - Gurm

  29. Thats true, I forgot I had used programs like Nero's Image recorder to copy an xcopy of mine. Its been ages since I used that program though. Ah well.

    Hide

  30. Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Gurm
    Umm...

    ONCE IT'S COPIED ONCE, IT'S GOT NO PROTECTION.

    This "marked errors" line you keep touting makes no sense.

    Once it's copied, it's copied - and deprotected 100%.

    - Gurm
    go burn you a dvd movie with instant copy 7 and SOME (actually most) versions of Nero (5.5.9.14 is one of the version that does this. that is the version that i have)


    go back and do a disc copy with your finished dvd disc

    and let me know what happens


    to save you some time

    go on this site and read some old posts

    watch how many times this question is asked


    "why can't i make a copy of my copied movie'

    read how they will tell you about these errors they are getting trying to do it

    i usually just answer their question

    but i won't tell them why it happens

    because everytime that i do

    somebody come on here and tells me

    that i don't know what i am talking about



    p.s. if you ever want to copyright a homemade dvd disc use ic7

    they have a part where you can insert mark errors on your discs intentionally , so people can't do a direct disc copy


    but like i said, there is a way around that too




Similar Threads