VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Experts,

I have created DVD R using ArcShowBiz and this is my own personal video. I was hoping that i could copy my DVD to Video Cassette. If i play directly on TV, it works great but if i play it thro' VCR, i see scrambled video. This is my personal video and i am not sure how come it has protection. I am a newbie here and need you guys help.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    It's your DVD player inserting a macrovision copy-protection signal into the output. I'm not sure if it can be turned off, I know some DVD players have a hack to do that.

Anybody else have an idea to disable macrovision for a non-commercial DVD?
    "Art is making something out of nothing and selling it." - Frank Zappa
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    The first time I tried to copy my DVD to VCR, it didn't work. I checked the conections - Audio and video out on DVD to audio and video in on VCR. Everything looked fine, but then I realized I forgot to change the Input on the VCR. Once I did that everything copied over, no problem.

Hope that helps.
    Got my retirement plans all set. Looks like I only have to work another 5 years after I die........
    Quote Quote  
  4. Banned
    Search Comp PM
    a lot of the new cheap dvd player aren't even bothering to put macrovision in their player these days

to save costs

so i buy a new one for 50 bucks

if it don't work take it back
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I don't know about other countries but in australia any machine I have used to copy home-made vcd's to vcr have had no problems. I have used samsungs, akais, panasonics etc with no problem. Don't know if it would be any different with dvd's, but I thought the macrovision signal was generated by the source material, not the machine itself.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Search Comp PM