VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 34
Thread
  1. Lugg
    Guest
    I have the latest version of svcd2dvdmpg+

    I have 2 svcds which are 4 bin files in total.
    I selected 2 vts one for each film and chose to have chapter points every 10mins.
    I used the 2nd PAL menu and put in names for both films and hit make menu i then got a black box come up and writing appeared in it and then it closed.
    I then hit Start and the program did all the encoding, it took approx 2 hours 20mins.
    when it finished i went to test using powerdvd player but i got an error, when i looked at my VIDEO_TS.IFO file it was 0bites and was empty?
    here are the files that were created during the proceess.



    Any ideas as this is driving me nuts and i havent managed to get it work yet with menus?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member ChrissyBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Yorkshire!
    Search Comp PM
    Latest version is: 1.0.1263.35189

    from: https://www.videohelp.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=163845&start=0&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=


    FIX: stack dump during authoring with menus.
    FIX: hanging on multiplex with certain files.
    This release addresses your issue!
    SVCD2DVD v2.5, AVI/MPEG/HDTV/AviSynth/h264->DVD, PAL->NTSC conversion.
    VOB2MPG PRO, Extract mpegs from your DVDs - with you in control!
    Quote Quote  
  3. I think I know the error you saw. I had the same thing. It could not find the "cygz.dll" file. I copied thise file directly into my NTSC template folder and it bypassed the error.

    However, I did not get any menus. The movies work fine...10min chap points...2 SVCDs (4 bins)...all NTSC. When i play the burned DVD, it just begins with the first movie. Funny, because as fas as I can tell (n00b), the structure looks fine:

    06/17/2003 11:29 PM 12,288 VIDEO_TS.IFO
    06/17/2003 11:29 PM 12,288 VIDEO_TS.VOB
    06/17/2003 11:29 PM 12,288 VIDEO_TS.BUP
    06/17/2003 11:18 PM 83,968 VTS_01_0.IFO
    06/17/2003 11:20 PM 1,073,709,056 VTS_01_1.VOB
    06/17/2003 11:21 PM 591,939,584 VTS_01_2.VOB
    06/17/2003 11:18 PM 83,968 VTS_01_0.BUP
    06/17/2003 11:27 PM 63,488 VTS_02_0.IFO
    06/17/2003 11:29 PM 883,027,968 VTS_02_1.VOB
    06/17/2003 11:27 PM 63,488 VTS_02_0.BUP

    Any thoughts?
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member ChrissyBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Yorkshire!
    Search Comp PM
    It does look ok from being a valid set of files point of view - but there is no menu. VIDEO_TS.VOB would be around 280KB if there is a menu. So i reckon you need to update as per https://www.videohelp.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=163845&start=0&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=

    (i.e followed by a reboot)

    Let us all know how you get on please.
    SVCD2DVD v2.5, AVI/MPEG/HDTV/AviSynth/h264->DVD, PAL->NTSC conversion.
    VOB2MPG PRO, Extract mpegs from your DVDs - with you in control!
    Quote Quote  
  5. Lugg
    Guest
    Have just tried it and now i just get a black menu and you cant see any buttons?
    Quote Quote  
  6. Same here.
    Best,

    djmobius
    Quote Quote  
  7. I had that as well... spoke to CB and he replicated it on his laptop... he's currently working on a fix as we speak..

    just out of interest..in your menu's folder.. i.e. menu/badger 2/pal2/ is your menu.mpg around 10-15k ? as that is what size mine were.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Guest
    just out of interest..in your menu's folder.. i.e. menu/badger 2/pal2/ is your menu.mpg around 10-15k ?
    My menu/badger 2/pal2/menu.mpg is 190K.
    Quote Quote  
  9. that's because your one works

    I meant for the people that are having issues..as every time you "create" a menu, it overwrites that file.. so for the ones that are having problems.. it's because it's messed up the file it is overwriting...

    that's why I was wondering what size menu.mpg's people have...

    but thx for replyin anyway...
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member ChrissyBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Yorkshire!
    Search Comp PM
    SVCD2DVD v2.5, AVI/MPEG/HDTV/AviSynth/h264->DVD, PAL->NTSC conversion.
    VOB2MPG PRO, Extract mpegs from your DVDs - with you in control!
    Quote Quote  
  11. Lugg
    Guest
    The next part to this never ending tale!.
    I updated to the latest version went through it all again when it was finished i viewed the dvd on my HD uding powerdvd and all seemed fine menu was there played as expected etc so burnt to dvdr.
    Played back on my Dansai standalone dvd player and had a lovely menu but no writing at all!.
    I had the background and the buttons but no titles, the buttons still worked but i couldnt seee hwat i was selecting.
    Also when i watched 1st film i pressed menu button to get back to menu but i was locked in and had to stop dvd and start again to get menu up, is this normal?.
    Any ideas about the wrtinig not showing up on dvd player but does on PC?
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member ChrissyBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Yorkshire!
    Search Comp PM
    Well luckily i have a Dansai as well (the worlds best DVD player!) - & i tested some burns on that & i also get the "missing text syndrome"

    So i found the rogue programmer from my elite team - and SACKED him.

    I then rolled my sleaves up & cut the code myself!

    The results can be seen if you do an update to version 1.0.1265.18863

    CB
    SVCD2DVD v2.5, AVI/MPEG/HDTV/AviSynth/h264->DVD, PAL->NTSC conversion.
    VOB2MPG PRO, Extract mpegs from your DVDs - with you in control!
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member ChrissyBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Yorkshire!
    Search Comp PM
    Whilst the paint on the new menu code is drying i thought i'd bash another couple of menus out....

    http://www.svcd2dvdmpg.com/SVCD2DVDMPG/MenuGallery/

    Now only the first one is finished & I'm afriad its rather large as i haven't got looping working yet.... (check the previews)

    One day someone else may have a go......
    SVCD2DVD v2.5, AVI/MPEG/HDTV/AviSynth/h264->DVD, PAL->NTSC conversion.
    VOB2MPG PRO, Extract mpegs from your DVDs - with you in control!
    Quote Quote  
  14. Lugg
    Guest
    Here we go again, im sorry to say i updated to latest version to cure the blank menu problem and its still the same i used badger 2 menu in PAL checked it on PC it works fine burnt to dvdr and on my Dansai i get a background and buttons but no text again.
    This is driving me bonkers this is the 8th time i have tried to make this dvd

    Please can you look into this again ChrissyBoy.


    cheers
    Quote Quote  
  15. Lugg
    Guest
    by the way i have the most upto date version which is Build 1.0.1265.28718 if this helps at all
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member ChrissyBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Yorkshire!
    Search Comp PM
    What Dansai you got?
    SVCD2DVD v2.5, AVI/MPEG/HDTV/AviSynth/h264->DVD, PAL->NTSC conversion.
    VOB2MPG PRO, Extract mpegs from your DVDs - with you in control!
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member ChrissyBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Yorkshire!
    Search Comp PM
    Also can you give this a try:


    http://www2.svcd2dvdmpg.com/Testers/menu_test_1.zip


    Slight difference in the POST command which may be foxing your player.....
    SVCD2DVD v2.5, AVI/MPEG/HDTV/AviSynth/h264->DVD, PAL->NTSC conversion.
    VOB2MPG PRO, Extract mpegs from your DVDs - with you in control!
    Quote Quote  
  18. Lugg
    Guest
    I havent tried the new test yet but i thought i would try the disc i burnt on 4 different standalones i have, results are as follows:
    Dansai 955 - No Text
    Dansai 1010 - No Text
    Mustek - No Text
    Panasonic dmr-E20 - TEXT!!!!!!!

    i can try the test yet as i have run out of blanks at moment

    so out of 4 diff machines only worked on one
    Quote Quote  
  19. I tried burning he new test menu..but it's still the same result... I get the background menu and the menu boxes, but with no text in them

    My H & B DVD-5415S shows no text
    Will try it on a friends..see if it works on theirs..
    Quote Quote  
  20. I just used the new menu (NTSC) on a 2 movie project and it worked great on both my APEX 1500 and Samsung S321. Great Job CB!! By the way, I love the program.
    Quote Quote  
  21. RRxScorpion
    Guest
    Yeah... I also had problems with not seeing the text on my menus. I am going to give the motion menus a try next hopefully that will help for my Apex. On my PC they show up fine but burned to a DVD-R nada on the standalone.
    Quote Quote  
  22. Member ChrissyBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Yorkshire!
    Search Comp PM
    Guys - whilst this text business seems to be a bit hit & miss on most dvd players, i think i may have found & fixed some issues with the code. Please try the next test and let me know....


    http://www2.svcd2dvdmpg.com/Testers/menu_test_2.zip
    SVCD2DVD v2.5, AVI/MPEG/HDTV/AviSynth/h264->DVD, PAL->NTSC conversion.
    VOB2MPG PRO, Extract mpegs from your DVDs - with you in control!
    Quote Quote  
  23. burning now... will let you know if it worked.

    it's times like this I wish I had a dvd-rw capable burner

    Roll on 105/106
    Quote Quote  
  24. Member ChrissyBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Yorkshire!
    Search Comp PM
    Looks like there has been success with this new test (from my PMs). I will look to incorporate this fix along with my new "looping" code in the next release.

    SVCD2DVD v2.5, AVI/MPEG/HDTV/AviSynth/h264->DVD, PAL->NTSC conversion.
    VOB2MPG PRO, Extract mpegs from your DVDs - with you in control!
    Quote Quote  
  25. Woohoo!

    It worked.. at last..i'll have a menu I can actually see!

    Great work CB...you are a guru

    looking forward to the next release now!
    Quote Quote  
  26. Update is ready already? Fast work CB!! You own! I am gonna try this out right now. Thanks again
    Quote Quote  
  27. Member ChrissyBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Yorkshire!
    Search Comp PM
    Opps - yes i forgot to "announce" it.

    Update from menu or Update+ on the site for the "mysterious disapearing text" fix...!!

    (Also a mini annoucement in the news/frontpage)

    Enjoy
    SVCD2DVD v2.5, AVI/MPEG/HDTV/AviSynth/h264->DVD, PAL->NTSC conversion.
    VOB2MPG PRO, Extract mpegs from your DVDs - with you in control!
    Quote Quote  
  28. Ok now this is just flat out strange. I did a 2 movie set and popped it in the standalone right. I saw the titles, clicked on each one and went back to the menu a few times then took it out. Today I put the DVD back in to watch one of the movies and the text is gone again?!?! I am gonna try cleaning the unit and possibly see if I can try someone elses standalone to make sure it's not just my Apex (AD-500W) and let you know what results I get.

    Nevermind I am an idiot! I guess my vcr wasn't liking L2 anymore cuz as soon as I moved it to L1 the menu came back on my DVD player. I was testing it on another TV that didn't need a vcr to run through and it worked fine also. Sorry for the confusion.
    Quote Quote  
  29. I have still the problem with the "black menu". I've updated to the latest Version (1.0.1271.35733 + reboot). The size of the menu.mpg file is about 15kb and when i open it with the mediaplayer I only see black. I tried Pal and NTSC.
    Quote Quote  
  30. Member ChrissyBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Yorkshire!
    Search Comp PM
    you got win 98?
    SVCD2DVD v2.5, AVI/MPEG/HDTV/AviSynth/h264->DVD, PAL->NTSC conversion.
    VOB2MPG PRO, Extract mpegs from your DVDs - with you in control!
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads