VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3
1 2 3 LastLast
Thread
  1. I'm new to linux and want to know what version you like I heard alot of Good about REDHAT and Debian and Mandrake and SuSE linux. I really like Virtual PC that let's you try out a OS in windows 2000. virtaul PC you just install it and then install any OS in a folder. If Red Hat is for me I will then format mat one of my drive's to do a real install of Linux. I also heard Linux does not like NTFS but has no problem with fat 32. Does linux have some thing like NTFS we all know fat 32 it some what crappy. Also how in Lindow's?
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    I switch between Suse and Slackware. I don't think one is better than the other, it just depends on which distro's control pannels, custom scripts, and package management you can get used too. Mandrake is a nice newbee linux.

I don't use Linux full time yet. But I have a couple of PC set up for word processing, art work, and general internet that run only Linux. All of my multimedia production computers still run a flavor of Windows, for the time being. I also run a Linux box as a router, firewall, print and music server.

Linux can read NTFS, but writing to NTFS isn't stable. I tend to just use xfs. Link about journaled file systems http://www.linuxgazette.com/issue55/florido.html

General distro comparisons http://www.distrowatch.com

I won't comment about Lindows
    Quote Quote  
  3. I just installed Mandrake the other day on a spare computer I had, and I like it so far. I'm not a full time Linux user yet, there is alot to relearn. It installed easy and set up was just about as easy as Windows.

I cant really offer a useful opinion, but I like Madrake.
    "Sleep-
    Those little slices of Death;
    How I loath them."
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM
    RedHat

Dd
    (;-{> Dd
    Strength and Honor
    www.dvd9to5.com
    www.dvd9to5.com/forum/
    "For every moment of truth there's confusion in life"