VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
    Search Comp PM
    I am trying to capture some old U-matic tapes to DV using a Sony VP-7020 deck and the Canopus ACDV100 unit.
    The audio sync is very poor.
    i see that the VCR has a seperate sync input.
    What do I need to do to get good sync
    Do i need a TBC?
    Do i need an external sync unit and if so please gice me an example
    Thanks.
    Paul
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I am not an expert on capturing matters, but I do know my U-Matic machines. You cannot lose sound sync from a U-Matic VCR, or any other VCR for that matter, so your problem lies in the computer side of things.

The sync connector on your U-Matic machine is to lock the VCR capston to an incoming sync source, a kind of genlock for a vision mixer etc, so this connector has nothing to do with the sound.

Sorry I cannot solve your problem but I hope this points you in the right direction.

( For those who wonder what a U-Matic vcr is, it is a .75" wide seme-pro format in the mold of the Betamax format, but plays at a much faster speed giving very high quality results and was born in the late 1970's. )
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Thank you for your expert reply
    MY U-matic VCR has a skew control in addition to tracking. Adjusting the Skew control seems to have an effect on the audio sync. Is that normal?
    If it is is there a magical way of adjusting it?
    Also as you are an expert what do the frame control and CTL settings refer to?
    Thanks
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM